In the After by Demetria Lunetta

In the After by Demetria Lunetta 

Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: June 25, 2013
Pages: 455
Source: Edelweiss/HarperCollins
Rating: 4 out of 5

In the After turned out to be a really fast-paced and fun post-apocalyptic/dystopian read for me. I have read many reviews for this book so I knew what to expect going into the story: a divided plot line, the first half being a survival story, and the second half being a dystopian.  I wouldn’t say In the After is the most unique dystopian story out there–there were definitely aspects that were “typical”–but I still really enjoyed this story.

WHAT I LIKED: The character relationships! Amy and Baby build the strongest relationship, depending on each other in this post-apocalyptic world, overtaken by aliens. They honestly felt like sister to each other afterwards and just THE LOVE. I FEEL IT. This has to be the BEST part of the novel, since they communicate through sign language, which makes it even cooler.

The overall plot as a whole was fast-paced and I could NOT put this book down! I managed to read 40% of the book in one sitting (this book is 455 pages btw, which is QUITE long), that’s how good it was! Totally addicting, and a off-of-your-seat kind of read. Readers will be gasping from the plot twist and knowledge that is revealed about the dystopian world!

WHAT I HAD PROBLEMS WITH: Okay so I know I just said I love the plot, but there was definitely an issue with the dystopian part of the book. It’s not all that different from other dystopian societies, and there is the aspect of The Ward, kind of like a mental institution. It really reminded me of The Program by Suzanne Young. Originality keeps things fresh, people!

Overall I loved diving into Lunetta’s world of aliens and closer-than-sisters survivors. I rather enjoyed the post-apocalyptic part of the story more than the dystopian because of how unoriginal the second half was. However, I will, without a doubt, be picking up In the End. The ending leaves the reader wondering where the rest of the story is headed, for sure…

Leave a Reply

