Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern

Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern

Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: June 3, 2014
Pages: 352
Source: Edelweiss/HarperCollins
Rating: 4 out of 5

Say What You Will is, in some ways, a tremendous eye-opener. I wouldn’t say that it’s particularly comparable to The Fault in Our Stars, but I do agree with the blurb when it says “for fans of Eleanor and Park“. From the cover alone, I had that Rainbow Rowell vibe going. I was wrong, and right. I thought this story was extremely thought-provoking and made me consider different lifestyles that exist in our world. However, I did have some problems with plot.

To start off, the characters in this story are unlike anything I have ever read. The reader is introduced to two main characters, Amy, who is inhibited ability to speak or walk properly, and Matthew, who has OCD. Instantly I knew that this was going to be a heartbreaking love story with main protagonists who are deeply wounded, some way or another. What I love most about this story is the unique circumstances that the McGovern has put these two characters in. I’ve never seen a romance work quite like that, building from something so honest and genuine. While I couldn’t fully relate to the characters because of their disabilities, it was certainly believable in the sense that I knew and understood their emotions. Moreover, McGovern does this skillfully, since this entire story is told in third person.

The story was going really well up until about 70%. Amy and Matthew’s relationship was in full swing, they were happy. This was when the story took an unexpected turn. Unexpected, as in, I didn’t really like it. I’m not going to spoil anything, but it’s a major issue that sort of tears Amy and Matthew apart. This story deals with enough issues as it is: disabilities, their hardships, parent involvement, and the list goes on. But this surprising plot twist just added to that pile of issues, and it suddenly felt way too… heavy. The burden of this story went a little overload, I guess you could say.

In all, I have to say my favorite aspect of Say What You Will has to be the romance and their struggle to experience and live life to the fullest TOGETHER. It’s that innocent, sweet love that I adore reading about, and McGovern sure did not fail in that department. If you’re considering picking this book up, take caution in the burden of the story later on– it may or may not ruin the book for you. Overall, I simply enjoyed this story because of its new perspective on people and their struggles.

Leave a Reply

