The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathiue | Review

Publisher: Roaring Books Press
Release Date: June 3, 2014
Pages: 208
Source: Netgalley/Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group
Rating: 3 out of 5


Usually when I finish reading a book, I self-reflect and think about a few things: What did I get out of this book? Did I learn anything new about myself, about how to treat other people, about today’s society? Upon finishing The Truth About Alice, I found that it was purely entertaining, but I didn’t really take anything away from the story. I mean I guess there are the few basic things: don’t drink and drive, don’t have unprotected sex (or sex at all), and make good friends. I mean, I already knowthose things. So in reality, I didn’t feel like I gained anything out of this novel. For this reason, I think The Truth About Alice was just an okay read for me.
Aside from the overall takeaway from the story, the entire time I feel like I was watching a really overly dramatic high school movie with annoying high schoolers who don’t know what they’re doing with their lives. It was entertaining and a fast read, but it just felt superficial to me for the majority of the novel.
In The Truth About Alice, readers also get the perspectives of 4 characters. The story centers around Alice, but the story is never told from her perspective, which I thought was interesting. It’s told from the POVs of 4 students and their interactions with Alice. Three out of the 4 perspectives all had a very negative connotation to them, and I couldn’t bring myself to like those three characters. They were shallow, rude, and arrogant. However, the one perspective I liked was from the nerd, Kurt. His honesty and good intentions made the story something to read  about.

There’s really not much else to say about The Truth About Alice; I read it quickly because it’s a short book and it’s entertaining. Nevertheless, I can’t say too many good things about it. I didn’t feel satisfied with by the end because I didn’t learn anything, and the overall plot and characters were superficial. The Truth About Alice can serve as a quick break from heavy reads if you’re looking for something a bit more on the mindless/not thought-provoking side.


2 thoughts on “The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathiue | Review

  1. I've been really curious about this one! The narrative choices sound interesting, but I'm unsure about the characters. I think negative, difficult personalities can often be realistic, but it does also tend to make it challenging for me to connect with characters like that. And if I don't care about the characters, I don't care about the story. Hmm. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Jen!

    Like

Leave a Reply

