Far From You by Tess Sharpe | Review


Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Release Date: April 8, 2014
Pages: 352
Source: Netgalley/Disney-Hyperion
Rating: 3.5 out of 5


Far From You is hands down one of those novels that are so deeply profound that it doesn’t necessarily give you FEELS, but it does wrench your heart. Moreover, this story has it all: a murder mystery, a new look at relationships between best friends and love, and also the struggle of moving on from a traumatic experience. Far From You is a special story.
What makes Far From You so different is the way Tess Sharpe arranges the romance in this story. It’s quite complicated– the main character Sophie is in love with her best friend, Mina, but was in love with Mina’s older brother at one point as well. This gives readers a confused character to work with. I really enjoyed seeing Sophie sort out her feelings and watch her develop this process. This is my first story about a homosexual girl, so it was different for me, but definitely interesting. Sharpe also accurately presented the idea of fear behind revealing homosexuality. I could feel Sophie’s anxiety resonating off every chapter. This realistic approach made Far From You that much more enjoyable, however dark.
Also, the murder mystery is definitely frightening and while a little vague, it certainly kept me on my toes. Sharpe purposefully leaves Sophie a bit unconscious during the murder (she was a witness) so that readers can slowly learn about the murder with Sophie. As murder mysteries go, I totally did not guess this resulting murderer, because Sharpe did not drop these hints whatsoever. I’m not sure I can say I’m satisfied with who the murderer was, but it works well with the plot.
Far From You is generally a good story, but there is definitely a lack in plot organization in my opinion. This story jumps from multiple points in the past– from before her rehab, after the car crash, before Mina’s death, to present time. I could never keep track of what happened when, so at one point in the story, I stopped paying attention to the timeline of Sophie’s life. Unfortunately, this lack of temporal evidence was definitely a drawback because I lost a bit of connection to Sophie.

As a whole, Far From You is an entertaining murder mystery story with a strongpoint in character relationships and romance. I wouldn’t say the mystery part was the best part because of the way it was resolved. There is also the drawback of a lack in plot organization. However, if you’re looking to try a book about female homosexuality, I would certainly give this one a shot because Sharpe portrays it genuinely in a new light. Overall, I’m glad I picked up Far From You, it’s worth the read!


Leave a Reply

