The Vanishing Season by Jodi Lynn Anderson | Review

Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: July 1, 2014
Pages: 256
Source: Edelweiss/HarperCollins
Rating: 4 out of  5

I don’t quite remember the last time I stumbled upon an author whose writing is so addictively tasteful and descriptive. I had previously heard outstanding things about Jodi’s Tiger Lily and how powerful it is, and I understand what readers mean by that now coming from The Vanishing Season. This story is unlike anything I have ever read, and I certainly enjoyed it for this reason.
Because of the lyrically beautiful way the story is written, I was able to notice the atmosphere instantly within the first couple of pages. Anderson dunks the reader into a tank of Maggie’s new town in Door County: quaint, quiet, and just a little bit mysterious. I was submerged in her world and felt like I was in the eerie town with her. This has to be Anderson’s strongest quality in storytelling: being able to make the reader believe that the story is truly existent and not entirely fictional.
It’s difficult to say that the character development was done really well because in all honesty, I’m still confused on who exactly each character is and what role they really played, even by the end of the story. But that’s what makes this story so unique; I think Anderson purposely leaves some holes in the character development for the reader’s imagination. It doesn’t bother me at all, in fact, I find it more intriguing and gives me more to think about.
Even after turning the last page in The Vanishing Season, I still have many questions unanswered. Throughout the story the reader gets the perspective of a ghost, and in a way, it foreshadows for the end of the story but this POV definitely kept me on edge and interested. By the end, there are evident threads that are left untied and loose. But again, this ambiguous ending is one that I appreciated. I like the way Anderson came about this conclusion: to leave the reader to their imagination.

The Vanishing Season is a gorgeously told story about a murder mystery, but also with the inclusion about relationships among friends, more-than friends, and love. It’s realistic, yet imaginary with the perspective of a ghost that kept me on the edge of my seat. Anderson’s writing is my favorite part without a doubt. If you constantly fangirl over beautiful writing, I would check out The Vanishing Seasonwhether you like mysteries or not. Because Anderson’s writing is just THAT worth it.


2 thoughts on “The Vanishing Season by Jodi Lynn Anderson | Review”

  1. This one sounds really interesting. I know someone who wasn't a fan of Tiger Lily because of Jodi's descriptive writing, so I can't wait to read this one to get a taste of the whole writing style. I haven't read many books with a great writing style, but I genuinely am intrigued now of the whole murder aspect of this book 🙂

    Like

  2. I haven't read this book yet, but since Tiger Lily was one of my favorites of 2013 and since I have a copy sitting on my shelf and calling my name, I'm picking it up very soon. You just made me even more excited to do so! I agree that Jodi's strong suits are her writing and her ability to craft a setting so lush it seems real, and you make this book sound like it has even more amazing selling points. I'm always attracted to unique stories, so I now have no doubt in my mind that I'll love this one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

