The Edge of Falling by Rebecca Serle | Review

Publisher: Simon Pulse
Release Date: March 18, 2014
Pages: 304
Source: Edelweiss/Simon Pulse
Rating: 4 out of 5

The Edge of Falling surprised me with its unexpectedly dark storyline. At first glance of the cover, I expected a cute read because of the bright red ballet flats and pretty lights behind it. I didn’t realize that this is from an aerial view looking down into the city. Yes, this perspective is from someone who is about to jump off of a building in New York. Yes, it’s centered around death and suicide. Yes, The Edge of Falling is profound and uplifting. Yes, I thoroughly enjoyed it.
The first thing I noticed and fell in love with in The Edge of Falling was the main character’s voice. The story is told from McAlister’s point of view, and it’s extremely relatable and easy to follow. Her language and voice was just so ME that I had an easy time reading the book. Not only did I love McAlister’s voice, but her actions felt really realistic to me. The grief she felt for her sister is palpable and although I’ve never lost someone so close to me, I could empathize with her.
The romance is definitely interesting in this story. Without giving anything away, I’m just going to say this: it doesn’t work. From the start I realized this because the romance develops pretty quickly and I know that McAlister handles it this way because of grief. Let’s just say that grief screws with people’s heads, and causes them to do things without realizing that there are other pathways they can take. I’m satisfied with how the romance worked out in the end though.
The overall message and character growth in The Edge of Falling is really uplifting and definitely gives the reader a sense of closure that the characters have learned and can move on from their dark pasts. I loved the way Serle ended the story.

The Edge of Falling certainly is not the lightest read, but it’s definitely a good one. With a relatable main protagonist who experiences growth in herself, The Edge of Falling leaves the reader with a feeling of content and happiness for the characters by the end of the story. I highly recommend picking up Serle’s sophomore novel for sure!


6 thoughts on “The Edge of Falling by Rebecca Serle | Review”

  1. Haha I love when a main character's voice is so real and relatable that you can't help but fall in love with their voice and empathize with them completely! I remember when I first saw this cover I thought that it looked pretty ridiculous because of how bright red the shoes were, so I'm glad that it's darker 😀 Great review, Jen!

    Like

  2. Okay so you liked this one better than I did. I loved Caggie and Trevor together and Astor was really creepy. I couldn't get into it for the longest time and once I did, I enjoyed it. I thought the character development for the secondary characters to be lacking.

    Glad you enjoyed it though 🙂

    Like

  3. I'm so excited that you liked this one, Jen! I think the story is one I could really like too- I love when a book is done well and realistically. I haven't read anything by Serle yet though so I'm not familiar with her writing style. I do trust your opinion, of course! I usually seem to enjoy your recommendations. Lovely review as always, Jen! 😀

    Like

  4. Heh, I somehow didn't notice that that is a city below either. I'm surprised and relieved that this one actually turned out to be uplifting with a premise like that. That's really good to hear. And I'm glad you liked this one so much! Great job with this review.

    Like

  5. I'm so happy to read your review. I was very excited for this one when I first read the synopsis, but the not-so-favorable reviews I've been reading have really made me a bit hesitant to pick it up. I'm glad you thought it was a good read, and now I'm more hopeful to enjoy it myself. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

