All That Glows by Ryan Graudin | Blog Tour Review + Giveaway

Today I’m part of the All That Glows tour, hosted by the lovely ladies over at The Fantastic Flying Book Club! Today I have my review and a giveaway to share with you all, and a bit about the book! Come check out the rest of the tour here.

Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: February 11, 2014
Pages: 480
Source: Edelweiss/HarperCollins
Rating: 4 out of 5

Emrys—a fiery, red-headed Fae—always embraced her life in the Highlands, far from the city’s draining technology, until she’s sent to London to rejoin the Faery Guard. But this isn’t any normal assignment—she’s sent to guard Prince Richard: Britain’s notorious, partying bad boy and soon-to-be King. The prince’s careless ways and royal blood make him the irresistible for the dark spirits that feed on mortals. Sweet, disheveled, and alive with adventure—Richard is one charge who will put Emrys’s magic and heart to the test. 
When an ancient force begins preying on the monarchy, Emrys must hunt through the London’s magical underworld, facing down Banshees, Black Dogs and Green Women to find the one who threatens Richard’s life. In this chaos of dark magic, palace murders and paparazzi, Emrys finds herself facing an impossible choice. For despite all her powers, Emrys has discovered a force that burns brighter than magic: love.
 – Review – 
I don’t remember the last time I read a faery book, so I was pleasantly surprised to see one being published in 2014, in the midst of all the dystopians and post-apocalyptic stories. In some ways, All That Glowswas incredibly refreshing to read, and really well done. Don’t be scared off by that pretty pink cover, because I thoroughly enjoyed Ryan Graudin’s 2014 debut, All That Glows.
All That Glows is about fae, but also of course, with the involvement of other supernatural creatures. What makes this particular story stand out amongst other fae stories is that Graudin creates new supernatural creatures; no, they’re not your typical warlocks, witches, elves… There are beings such as Green Women, Banshees, and Black Dogs. Curious yet? This difference certainly attracted my attention, and I was immersed in the world Graudin created.
What supplements this world even more is Graudin’s writing style. It’s nothing out-of-this-world, but it is remarkable in its own way because it suits the faery world perfectly. I couldn’t have asked for a better writer to compose this mystical, glowing world of the fae.
Alas, the downfall for me in All That Glows was the characters and romance. Emrys, the female protagonist–also the faery– was a character that I liked, but didn’t love. Nothing made her particularly stand out, but she was admirable. Richard, the prince, was also tolerable and nowhere near cringe-worthy. But them together is a whole different story. I’m sad to announce that there is in fact–wait for it–insta-love in this fae story. *Sigh* This book would have been phenomenal if it weren’t for the romance. And the thing about this insta-love is that the romance plays quite a big part in the plot. Throughout the entire story, I just couldn’t let my heart open up to believe Emrys and Richard’s romance (it got really cheesy towards the end). If the romantic relationship was believable after time passed, the insta-love probably could have been forgiven, but it just didn’t happen for me.

To finish, All That Glows was an immensely enjoyable story with the original fae world (set in London!), and gorgeous writing despite the doomed insta-love romance.  I’d say that if you want to take a break from the influx of dystopians nowadays, pick up All That Glows if you don’t mind some insta-love!

– About the Author – 

My name is Ryan and I’ve been writing ever since I grabbed one of my dad’s old tax ledgers and created this masterpiece: see image.

My writing has since improved, though my obsession with wolves has remained relatively the same (I even own a wolf-hybrid pup.) My childhood was a happy, sunny thing. I grew up on a steady diet of fairytales, salt-marshes, music and brothers who would re-enact Redwall battles with me in the back yard. I went to an artsy sort of high-school that allowed cello recitals in the hallways and impromptu poetry slams in the cafeteria. It was there I decided that writing was what I wanted to do more than anything.

I’m officially a grownup now (I suppose one must admit that once they turn 26). My diet still includes fairytales, salt-marshes and art, but there are a few new loves thrown in. A big one is travel. Pieces of my heart are scattered like breadcrumbs all over the globe–I’ve bartered them off for writing inspiration, so I suppose it’s a fair trade.

When I’m not cramming my earthly belongings into a backpack and waiting in airport security lines, I’m doing one of the following: Writing YA novels, Photographing weddings with my husband, Making our little white cottage more homey, Playing with my wolf pup, Trying out Korean récipes, Haunting local coffee shops with my friends.

– Giveaway – 
Win (1) of (2) signed copies of All That Glows + one large tin of All That Glow custom blend Tea.
The giveaway is US/CAN Only.
Question of the day: What fictional fairy is the strangest one you’ve ever read about?

a Rafflecopter giveaway

6 thoughts on “All That Glows by Ryan Graudin | Blog Tour Review + Giveaway”

  1. Wonderful review! So happy you enjoyed this one. I adore the cover, but cover alone isn't good enough for me these days hahah, so I'm glad to hear you had a good time with this book. Fae stories are either hit or miss with me, I think the only one I truly enjoyed was Holly Black's series so far. And the weirdest one? I remember reading The Other Kingdoms by.. not sure what his name is, but it's the guy who wrote I Am Legend^^ That was the most bizarre thing ever. A fae forest and an older guy having sex with faeries.. I kid you not! So weird! 🙂

    Thanks for an awesome post, Jen! 🙂
    Evie @Bookish

    Like

  2. Great review, Jen! So glad you liked All that Glows also! Like you, I thought this was a fresh take on the fairy theme. I liked the mix of contemporary royall setting with the Fae creatures. The romance was kinda soon and insta-love, but stil cute. 🙂

    Like

  3. I'm not sure that the romance here would work for me – it sounds like everything that I usually dislike – but the rest of it sounds brilliant. It can be hard to find original fae books, so I'm definitely curious about this one now. I'm glad you enjoyed the author's writing style. Lovely review, Jen! 🙂

    Like

  4. Aww it's a huge shame that this book was an insta-love story, that's definitely really upsetting as well as the likability of the characters. However, the feedback so far for the rest of the book has been pretty positive, especially in terms of the world building and the creativeness of the story as a whole. Fantastic review, Jen! <33

    Like

  5. I can't remember ever enjoying a fae-centric story before so I was excited to hear that this one had some original elements to it! And then I was promptly let down at the mention of instalove. Curse you, instalove!! Why you got to ruin everything?

    Like

Leave a Reply

