Bright Before Sunrise by Tiffany Schmidt | Review

Publisher: Walker Childrens
Release Date: February 18, 2014
Pages: 288
Source: Netgalley/Bloomsbury Childrens
Rating: 3 out of 5

Upon looking at the cover of Bright Before Sunrise, I expected this adorably cute story about two people who mend each other’s problems and fall in love in the process. BBS gives exactly this, but the overall story as a whole did not deliver well. While I enjoyed the story as a whole, I had a few issues with Bright Before Sunrise.
As a story that mainly focuses on romance and character development, Bright Before Sunrise unfortunately fell short in this department. In this story, we get both the male and female point of view, but let’s talk ladies first. Brighton is this “happy” girl who keeps a cheerful façade at all times, and tries to mask her sadness of her father’s death whenever possible. Brighton is very relatable in the sense that she does all the high school girl things, but other than that, she appears to be pretty boring in my eyes. I didn’t root for her or anything remotely close in the entire duration of the story. I just couldn’t connect with her emotionally. Jonah, the male protagonist and love interest, is not too far from Brighton, either. Jonah’s negativity is quite the turn off in the beginning. I understand where he’s coming from, but how does he expect me to like him if he’s just so pessimistic all the time?
Furthermore, Brighton and Jonah together just didn’t work for me, either. Because of the fact that Bright Before Sunrise is 24-hour story, I’m calling this romance an insta-love. I didn’t believe their love for each other for a second. Never in the story do they profess their love for each other, but the romantic relationship was not believable.
The plot as a whole is very mediocre. It started off interesting as the author introduces the characters’ backgrounds to us, but the effect wears off quickly and the reader is left reading the boring story of two teenagers’ lives. The ending even happened too quickly and the main problem that slapped these two teens together doesn’t even get resolved.

Looking at my thoughts now, it appears that most of my opinions for Bright Before Sunrise is negative, but I truly thought it was just an okay read. It’s certainly not awful; the story does get better in the second half, but it wasn’t enough to bump it up to any higher level than three stars. It’s a cute story, nothing more. I recommend this story if you’re in for a really quick, cute contemporary, but otherwise, I wouldn’t bother picking Bright Before Sunrise up. 




4 thoughts on “Bright Before Sunrise by Tiffany Schmidt | Review

  1. I was really sad that I didn't get approved for this one. Reading your review now, I'm sort of thankful I got turned down. This sounds exactly like The Promise Of Amazing and The Infinite Moment Of Us for me. I really expected this to be the super-make-you-fall-in-love kind of book but it sounds really mediocre now. At least I can focus my reading on more above-average books now although I might still get a copy because I really like the cover and still want to try and read this author. Loved reading your honest and insightful review, Jen!

    PS: I'm sorry I haven't dropped by often! *huggles for you and your blog*

    Like

  2. I saw this on GR and decided this probably wouldn't be for me, and you review confirms it. I doubt I'd be able to relate to the characters, but the true clincher is that this takes places in a matter of only hours. With romance as the main aspect, I don't see it working. I'm glad it wasn't really bad, but I do hope your next read is an improvement. Wonderful review, Jen! 🙂

    Like

  3. Yes I totally agree! The romance was just so insta-love and I also really hated how unfairly the characters were stereotyped as rich spoiled brats because not all rich people are like that! I live in a upper middle class community and the rich people are definitely NOT all like that. It just made me so mad *huffs* But fantastic review, Jen! <33

    Like

  4. Sadddddd. Now I really have to read it because I love comparing our feelings about books. The characters don't sound like they'd bother me at all, but I obviously won't know that until I read it. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy this one as much as you hoped!

    Like

Leave a Reply

