Wild Awake by Hilary T. Smith | Epic Recs Review

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Release Date: May 28, 2013
Pages: 375
Source: Edelweiss/HarperCollins
Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Initially, I was very wary going into Wild Awake because I had heard that the main protagonist, Kiri, is a heavy drug-user and that the writing is crazy and unreadable. However, upon finishing this story, I was anything but disgusted with it. In my opinion, Wild Awake is an extremely powerful contemporary with a memorable storyline and strong-willed characters that I can’t help but adore.
The first quality that caught my attention while reading Wild Awakewas Hilary Smith’s writing style. Unique, lyrical, and very descriptive, Smith’s way of writing is smooth and the words just fly across the pages; it just works very well with the plot. I could picture every scene, hear every sound, see every paint splatter… The writing in Wild Awake allowed me to fully immerse myself in Kiri’s grungy city.
Secondly, the characters in the story are realistic, lovable, and perfectly flawed. Obviously, there is drug use from most of the characters, and I don’t always agree with their actions, but I understand why they did so-and-so. Their lives are complex yet they still grow from these obstacles that stand in their way. I was a huge fan of the romance, however messed up it was.
The plot as a whole kept me engaged the entire time. There is this air of mystery behind the main story, and I loved that. Not only this, but Hilary implements the artistic aspects of Kiri’s sister, and Kiri’s own artistic talent, music. Smith incorporates these elements so appropriately that I am in love with this story because of it.

Wild Awake is a dark, tough-to-read contemporary, yet it’s breathtaking and so worth it as well. It handles difficult subjects that I don’t usually come across, but with Smith’s beautiful writing, realistic characters, and captivating storyline, I can’t say that I didn’t love this book. Because I did. It was amazing.


4 thoughts on “Wild Awake by Hilary T. Smith | Epic Recs Review”

  1. I'm SO glad to hear you loved this book. The writing really is fantastic – its lyrical, descriptive-but-not-boring quality, combined with Kiri's drug-induced instability, creates a narrative that reminded me of the Shatter Me trilogy, but not quite as crazy. And “perfectly flawed” is a brilliant way to describe the characters. *book shimmy*

    Like

  2. I read a really negative review for this one and I was so depressed because I really wanted to read Wild Awake. Seeing that you seem to have loved it a lot though, I think it's safe to say that I will too. And you say that the writing is beautiful and captivating so there's no reason why I wouldn't like this! I'll get a copy soon definitely. Great review, dear! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

