Top 13 of 2013


The New Year is upon us! 2013 is officially over! Can you believe that?! I can’t. Well, it’s time for my top 13 books of 2013 that I read. Surprisingly, it wasn’t too hard to pick, but in no particular order…


Hopeless (Hopeless, #1) The Fault in Our Stars Easy Bruised
Looking for Alaska Where the Stars Still Shine Eleanor & Park The Beginning of Everything

Hopeless by Colleen Hoover: This is my first book by her, and she is one of the most talented NA Contemporary writers ever. The romance isn’t your usual steamy one– in fact, it’s not really steamy at all. It’s more powerful and hearth-wrenching then the typical NA books.
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green: I read this one this year. Yes, it took me THAT long. I didn’t bawl my eyes out, but it was still amazing.
Easy by Tammara Webber: This New Adult definitely stands out from the rest because IT’S TAMMARA WEBBER. She’s just skilled that way.
Bruised by Sarah Skilton: I’m sad that most people have never heard of this book. It’s a dark contemporary, but it’s also very uplifting. 
Looking for Alaska by John Green: I also read this one this year. I’M A LITTLE LATE ON THE JG TRAIN, OKAY? 
Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller: I will read anything by Trish Doller. LOVED THIS ONE.
Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell: duh.
The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider: Robyn’s writing style really reminded me of John Green’s, but it’s also unique from his. I loved the main character Ezra in this book, and it’s a thought-provoking type of read for sure.

***
8/13 of my favorites for 2013 were contemporaries… does that make me a contemporary person? Onto the dystopians/fantasy!
The Program (The Program, #1) More Than This These Broken Stars (Starbound, #1) Into the Still Blue (Under the Never Sky, #3) Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2)
The Program by Suzanne Young: Suzanne Young surprised me with this one. I wasn’t a huge fan of her other novel, A Need So Beautiful, but this dystopian world that she created was so well done and THE ROMANCE ❤
More Than This by Patrick Ness: This goes into the “other” category because it doesn’t exactly fit into any category at all. Patrick Ness will always be a favorite author of mine. I loved this book.
These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner: the cover. The story. Everything about this book is perfect.
Into the Still Blue by Veronica Rossi: So glad I was book-pushed to read Under the Never Sky, because this series conclusion was perfect and gah I loved it so much. Love you Veronica!

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas: OMG you guys this series. I don’t usually dig fantasies but FEUOPFPAJDJAER. Chaol. Celaena. I can’t. Chelaena.

The Madman's Daughter (The Madman's Daughter, #1)
The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd: I gave this one 4.5 stars when I read it, but I noticed that throughout the year, I’ve been book-pushing this book all around! I loved everything about this book: the Gothic tone, the romance, and the horror. SO AWESOME.
***
So there you have it! My top 13 of 2013! If you have a  post, please link it to me! I need to make a “must read for 2014” shelf on Goodreads. 😉
8 thoughts on “Top 13 of 2013”

  1. I agree, Into the Still Blue was a fantastic conclusion! I'll miss Aria, Perry, and Roar. 😦 I quite enjoyed TFiOS, it wasn't a favourite, but still pretty enjoyable. =)

    Like

  2. Crown of Midnight and Easy were my favourites all the way last year. I mean Chaol. enoigh said really isn't it! 😀 Great Picks. Happy New Year! 🙂

    Like

  3. I was also a John Green virgin before 2013, but I read all of his books over the course of the year. And now I desperately need more books from him. Speaking of John Green, I'm so excited to read The Beginning of Everything because I've heard from you and other bloggers that the styles are similar – your review helped convince me to add it to my TBR.

    I'm glad you read such lovely novels last year, and I hope you read as many fantastic ones in 2014! Oh, and here is the link to my top 13, since you asked: http://foreverliterary.blogspot.com/2013/12/top-13-of-2013.html 🙂

    Like

  4. Ahh, all the awesome books! Although you definitely need to read more dystopians in 2014!! I guess I will be the one remedying that for you, with Epic Recs. 😉

    I've been really hesitant about the NA genre as a whole, because of how it seems to be so focused on steamy romance. But I'm glad to hear that Hopeless isn't actually like that, so it seem as if I'll have to pick it up in 2014! I've actually heard of Bruised, although I haven't had the chance to read it. I've always loved the idea, though, and so I guess I need to pick it up!! I've also been meaning to read The Beginning of Everything, ever since I saw how much you enjoyed it! I didn't love TFiOS or Eleanor and Park live everyone else seemed to, but I did enjoy both and I'm glad that you loved both!!

    Gah, I can't believe that I haven't read The Program yet. I even CHECKED IT OUT from the library, but it had to get returned unread, le sigh. I'm going to put a hold on it right now, though! Also, I'm a failure for not reading More Than This, seriously. I mean, it's Patrick Ness. HE IS AMAZING. He is also one of my favorite authors, so I definitely need to get a move on and read this one! Also, YAYAYAY for Into the Still Blue! Release day is SO CLOSE. I can't wait to dive into it, and I'm so thrilled you ended up loving the series! <3 This is why we do Epic Recs. ;) Also, I checked out The Madman's Daughter from the library because I remembered how much you enjoyed it, and I'll be starting it very soon. I can't wait!

    Lovely post, Jen, and I hope that you have even more awesome reads in 2014!! ❤

    Like

  5. Loved Easy so much! And YES on Hopeless. Really digging the NA lately.I can't believe i still haven't read THE PROGRAM but that will be fixed along with These Broken Stars! So agree on Trish Doller. I will read anything by her and also Katie McGarry. Oh and the shame! I've never read anything by Patrick Ness. Looks like your 2013 reading year was great. Here's to another year full of amazing reads 🙂

    Like

  6. I'm so happy to see Crown of Midnight on your list! I LOVED THAT BOOK! And I'm also really excited about These Broken Stars and Into the Still Blue. Those are two books I'm hoping to read soon! I've read Where the Stars Still Shine and really liked it. There were a few tiny things that kept it from being a total love for me – but Trish Doller is seriously so talented!

    And I'm hoping to read The Madman's Daughter, The Program and The Fault In Our Stars soon. I actually own the last one – I just haven't gotten around to reading it yet! 🙂

    Like

  7. aghhh I seriously need to read Where the Stars Still Shine!! Also yeess to More Than This, so good. I'm v excited for Into the Still Blue so I can binge read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

