Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi | Review

Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: January 8, 2013
Pages: 341
Source: Online Library
Rating: 4.5 out of 5

This review contains no spoilers for the series!
Previously disappointed with Through the Ever Night‘s predecessor, Under the Never Sky, I was wary to continue on to the second book, knowing that UtNS was not close to living up to my expectations. I don’t know if it’s because I had lowered my expectations or purely because the second book truly is better, but Veronica Rossi blew it out of the water with Through the Ever Night. It was fantastic and I loved it.
In Through the Ever Night, the reader gets the chance to learn more about the main characters Perry and Aria. I feel as if I know both of them on a deeper level now, so much so that I understand their strengths, weakness, doubts, and truths. Not even just Aria and Perry, but also their friends, like Roar and Reef. Unlike in UtNS, Rossi allows the reader to dive deep into the characters’ heads so that we are emotionally connected through a tight grip that I know will be difficult to let go in the conclusion to the trilogy.
And the action! The action! I couldn’t have flown through this book fast enough, there are so many things going on, yet Rossi keeps it controlled and easy to follow. I was fully engaged throughout every second in Through the Every Night.
There’s not much more to say, really. Through the Ever Night was just better than Under the Never Sky in terms of character development and plot-pacing; and since the world-building was taken care of in book one, this sequel moved along much quicker. I am more than excited to finish the series with Into the Still Blue, mind you, with high expectations.

4 thoughts on “Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi | Review”

  1. I wasn't a fan of the first one either and didn't even bother to check this out, but looks like I should give it a chance now! Trusting you on this Jen.

    Here's to a fantastic new year šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I really liked the first book, but I completely agree that everything is better here. This was actually my favorite book of the trilogy. I enjoyed getting to better know some of the secondary characters in this one, especially Roar, who I love to pieces. I'm so glad you had a much better experience with this installment, Jen. Lovely review! I hope Into the Still Blue won't disappoint. šŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Yay! I'm so glad you loved Through the Ever Night! I couldn't decide which book I liked better, but I think I may agree with you on this one being better out of the two. And there's more Roar! And action, but…Roar! Have a great new year!

    Like

  4. I'm so glad you enjoyed this one! I loved it myself, though I really enjoyed UtNS too. Into the Still Blue is also a fantastic conclusion, so I'm thrilled you've discovered this series! Great review, Jen!(:

    Like

Leave a Reply

