Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi | Epic Recs Mini Review

Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: January 3, 2012
Pages: 376
Source: Bought on Kindle
Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Under the Never Sky is a book that nearly everybody has read, and it’s taken me THIS long to finally get to it. After much hype and long awaited anticipation for that BOOM everybody loves in this book, I just didn’t get it. Perhaps I expected too much, but Under the Never Sky was just okay for me.
The factor that slowed this book down the most for me was actually the plot. It started off very intense–which was great, it was eye-catching– but after that (it was only the first 10% of the book), things died down, quickly. I understand that lots of world-building happened and it was done fabulously by Rossi, not too much info-dumping. But nothing happened. I was so incredibly bored with the story. Things sloooowly started to pick up after the halfway mark, but it wasn’t really until the last 10% that I started to become engaged in the story. Under the Never Sky‘s plot pacing was disappointing and banal.

Other than that, I’m supremely interested in learning more about Aria and Perry. I can tell I’ll be swooning for Perry later, and Aria is so sweet and admirable. And as I mentioned before, Rossi’s doing a fine job at the world building, and obviously, there are more things to be discovered, and I’m willing to wait for more answers to be uncovered in its sequel. Under the Never Sky may not have lived up to my expectations, but I’m hoping that the rest of the series will redeem book one.



One thought on “Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi | Epic Recs Mini Review

  1. Despite having an issue with the slow paced plot I'm glad you enjoyed this. Haha, I can guarantee you will be swooning for Perry and maybe even Roar. 😉 I agree Aria is a lovely mc, definitely admirable. Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

