How Zoe Made Her Dreams (Mostly) Come True by Sarah Strohmeyer | Review

Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Release Date: April 23, 2013
Pages: 320
Source: Edelweiss/HarperCollins
Rating: 4 out of 5

Having read Strohmeyer’s previous young adult novel, Smart Girls Get What They Want, I knew I had to pick up her latest. I became a huge fan of Strohmeyer’s easily relatable characters, fun dialogue, and overall feel-good effect of the book. They’re light and easy to read. How Zoe Made Her Dreams (Mostly) Come True was no exception. This one is an exhilarating ride from start to finish.
From the start, I fell in love with the main character Zoe. She is a selfless person and always has her eyes out for her best friend, Jess. Zoe’s characterization and growth in the novel is also a factor I enjoyed. While not the most memorable character in the young adult world, she’s definitely one that is lovable in the moment. The romance isn’t the shining star in this story, but it’s cute and I couldn’t help but “aww” at multiple points.
And boy this storyline! I’ve never read any story set entirely at an amusement/theme park, so the setting is fresh and fun. The visuals and atmosphere are most certainly there, making it a vivid setting. Loved it! Now I want to go to Disneyland…
The only complaint I have for HZMHDMCT is the plot and the slight mystery surrounding it; it’s surely un-realistic in some areas, but I easily brushed it off and overlooked it because it’s supposed to be a little ridiculous and fun. Just a minor thing, nothing much.
In my opinion, How Zoe Made Her Dreams (Mostly) Come True is not as good as Smart Girls, but I am still a huge fan of Sarah Strohmeyer because her books just make me so cheerful after completing them. They are, without a doubt, great contemporary reads.

5 thoughts on “How Zoe Made Her Dreams (Mostly) Come True by Sarah Strohmeyer | Review

  1. HZMHDMCT is one HECK of a an acronym!!! I'm definitely picking this one up for the amusement/theme park setting though. I just have this whole story in my head about a amusement/theme park YA book and I would like to actually READ one. Great review Jen! Everyone needs to read a fun book like this one every now and then.

    Like

  2. YAY! I so enjoyed this one too Jen! I agree it was a little ridiculous at times, but it was meant to be and that's what made it so fun for me. This was my first book by Sarah, and I'm now 100% a fan so I can't wait to read whatever she comes up with next. I'll have to go back and read Smart Girls too since you thought that one was even better:)

    Like

  3. I haven't heard much about this one, though the author seems quite popular. I usually don't pick up such cute contemporaries, but sometimes that's exactly what I need so I'll be saving this one for those times. Great review, Jen!(:

    Like

  4. I planned on reading this one over the summer, but I ended up giving it to one of my friends and haven't thought of it since. It sounds really cute and fun and I'm glad you liked it! I'm worried it might be too light for me, but I could be wrong. I'll have to keep it in mind since I know you have fantastic taste 🙂

    Like

  5. I totally agree! This one is adorable and I fell in love with Zoe. Sarah always knows how to make her characters so relatable and easy to identify with. This story is adorable and I'm so glad that you loved this one! <33 I totally agree about Zoe not being as good as Smart Girls, but I love their feel-goodness anyway!

    Like

Leave a Reply

