Stir Me Up by Sabrina Elkins | Review

Publisher: Harlequin TEEN
Release Date: October 1, 2013
Pages: 268
Source: Netgalley/Harlequin TEEN
Rating: 4 out of 5

At first glance, Stir Me Up seems like a steamy read that doesn’t require a lot of focus; it appears to be a nice fluffy read with a stereotypical storyline. However, it proves to have much more than that; I was pleasantly surprised with Elkins’ ability in telling Cami and Julian’s story. Stir Me Up is a great romantic story, with the addition of self-discovery along the way.
First off, one of the many things I enjoyed about Stir Me Upwas the food aspect. Cami works at her dad’s French restaurant, and you guys know I love stories that incorporate French culture in any way. And goodness gracious, Elkins knows her food! The French cuisine and cooking played a huge part in Cami’s self-discovery and I loved the way it was weaved into the story.
I wasn’t quite sure of the romance at first, but as the story continued, I grew to love Cami and Julian together. They definitely start out rocky with an antagonistic relationship, but it grows to be very sweet and honest. Julian is totally swoon-worthy–even with one leg!
I admired watching Cami grow and find what she truly wants in her future, and the struggles she endures through are wholly realistic and illustrates how a true teen would experience right out of high school. And that ending? Perfect. Loved it so much, left the story on a really good note!

In all, Sabrina’s debut, Stir Me Up, is one that you won’t want to miss. I know for sure that I’ll be looking forward to her future romance novels, because they are oh-so-sweet and fun to read. With the addition of food cuisine, a lovely romance, and a realistic journey of self-discovery, Stir Me Up deserves a thumbs-up from me!


3 thoughts on “Stir Me Up by Sabrina Elkins | Review

  1. I'm glad you enjoyed this, Jen! It wasn't quite as memorable for me, but I did fly through it. The writing was pretty effortless to read, and I liked the romance overall. I'll probably also keep an eye out for any future books from this author. šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. From this cover and title, I would also assume that the story is fluffy, but I'm glad to see it's such a worthy read after all. Plus, French cuisine is a wonderful addition to this tale. I'll have to pick it up soon for sure. Great review, Jen!

    Like

  3. A food story? A guy with one leg? OMG, totally sold on this one.
    I've been hearing nothing but great things about this one and was nervous about it, but man, I'll definitely be checking out this one now. (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

