The Promise of Amazing by Robin Constantine | Review


Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Release Date: December 31, 2013
Pages: 384
Source: Edelweiss/HarperCollins
Rating: 3 out of 5

The Promise of Amazing by Robin Constantine held much promise in the beginning of the story, but at the halfway point, the plot took the wrong turn and I was sorely disappointed with the rest of the book.
The Promise of Amazing has its upsides: The story is an addicting read in the beginning. I was excited to see how Wren, the quiet, good-girl female protagonist, was going to handle meeting Grayson, a brainiac/criminal/athlete. I was intrigued by both of the characters, as well as their own personal life problems they were juggling. And obviously, these two characters fall in love. Strangely enough, I was not bothered by this case of insta-love. In the first half of the story, it felt more like an insta-like, which was fine by me. Wren was most definitely tolerable and somewhat relatable. As for Grayson, he did not make the best choices in the past, but I saw the potential for his growth. However, the story takes a turn for the worst after the halfway mark.
The second half of the story went in a downward spiral, starting off with the progression of Wren and Grayson’s relationship. I thought it was going along fine, when Grayson decided to be untrustworthy to Wren. Up popped up so many lies and secrets that I wrinkled my nose in disgust at where their relationship was headed. And the insta-love that I didn’t mind before? It go soannoying after awhile. This is when Wren and Grayson really enunciated their love for each other– so eye-rolling! The plot becomes a mess and the ending  is too resolved, easy, and unrealistic. Although I enjoyed the first half of the story, it develops into a sloppy mess by the end and therefore, not enjoyable at all. 

To conclude, The Promise of Amazing could have easily been a solid 4-star read if it hadn’t been for the wrong turn that the plot takes at the halfway point. The romance and characters were intriguing in the beginning, instigating a curiosity for the reader to find out what happens next, but the relationship and plot skydives into a puddle of mud later on. If you’re looking for a fun contemporary romance and don’t mind some flaws, by all means pick up The Promise of Amazing. It had the potential to be amazing, but failed to live up to it.


One thought on “The Promise of Amazing by Robin Constantine | Review

  1. Oh no! I was so excited about reading this book. I have absolutely no problem with instalove (most of the time), but even this sounds like it would bother me. I'm curious about what Grayson lied about and what happened to make the end such a mess. That's so disappointing :/ I'll have to message/text you when I read it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

