No One Else Can Have You by Kathleen Hale | Review

Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: January 7, 2013
Pages: 384
Source: Edelweiss/HarperCollins
Rating: 2 out of 5

Every character in this book is messed up.
It’s the first thing that comes to my mind when I think about how to sum up this book in one sentence: No One Else Can Have You‘s characters are so screwed up in the head that it made this story uncomfortable to read, and not in a good way. Sure, this book is a murder mystery and it’s bound to be a thriller, but these characters were ALL creepy in one way or another. Even the main character. The entire time I was reading No One Else Can Have You, all I could think was, “What. The Actual. Heck.”
As I strongly emphasized before, the characters were the main problem for me in No One Else Can Have You. This book is a murder mystery, so it’s a given that all of the characters have to sound like suspects to keep the reader guessing. However, the main character Kippy, the one trying to solve the mystery, was crazy herself. She was so messed up in her head, there was no way I could relate or connect to her in any way, shape, or form. She made the most random choices that had me confused. Aside from Kippy, there were not any other characters in the book that I liked. Hale attempts to include a romance– I pretty much face-palmed so many times because it just did not work out. Simply bomb-dropping a romance into a middle of a murder mystery without actually benefitting the story? How about no…
One positive thing I can say about this book is the creep-factor is on high, my friends. Hale does a good job playing up the cover: a seemingly innocent sweater cover, but with a moose hanging from noose. It’s an innocent town in Wisconsin, but one heck of a murder. It’s creepy, you guys. WHEW. 

Overall, No One Else Can Have You was a crazy mystery with very disturbing characters that I couldn’t relate to. It’s a book that will make you squirm with discomfort and a bit of fear, too. I’m not sure whether I would recommend this; I’d say if you’re a mystery lover, read this one with caution because of the whacko characters! (This book also brings about the subject of sex A LOT for a YA book, so there’s that to be cautious about, too).



3 thoughts on “No One Else Can Have You by Kathleen Hale | Review”

  1. Ha ha, sadly, the author of the book have next to no say when it comes to the cover of their book. I went to several book publishing panels and in every single one, they say that the author basically have very little to no say about the cover. ):
    This book sounds like a book that's trying to purposely make you go crazy. I'll have to watch out for this one!

    Like

  2. I'm sad to hear that you didn't like this book's weirdness. I agree with your main points, but I actually loved the crazy characters. They were over-exaggerated, but this seemed satirical and hilarious to me. Still, I can see where you are coming from; this novel is definitely not for everyone. At least the creepiness worked well for you. 🙂

    Like

  3. Heh, oh dear. That's a lot of craziness. But I completely agree with you, of course – I need a character that I can relate with, as well! So yeah, I think I'll skip this one. Thanks for the review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

