These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner | Blog Tour review & giveaway

Hi everyone! I’m extremely excited to be a part of the These Broken Stars blog tour today, hosted by the lovely ladies over at The Midnight Garden. I have a review and giveaway to share with you all, enjoy!

 – Review –


Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Release Date: December 10, 2013
Pages: 384
Source: Netgalley/Disney Hyperion & Blog Tour
Rating: 5 out of 5

Gorgeous cover, gorgeous story. These Broken Stars is a winner.
There are those rare times when I actually pick up a science fiction and fall in love with it. I can’t remember the last time I read such a riveting science fiction story with a heart-pounding romance. Previous to picking up These Broken Stars, I had only heard extremely positive thoughts on it. I expected this novel to be good, but not as much as I loved it. I can honestly say that These Broken Stars is one of my favorites for 2013, purely because of the storyline, intensity, and die-hard swoony romance.
After the first couple of pages of starting the story, I was hooked. This unique setting starts off in a spaceship, and I couldn’t help but crave a curiosity to find out what happened next. The story picked up rather quickly and I was engrossed and entirely involved in the story. The pacing doesn’t  drop once throughout the entire story, making it fast-paced and un-put-downable. Not to mention the plot. The plot itself had me rooting for the characters to not give up, swooning, (almost) crying, and getting my mind blown. These Broken Stars‘s plot has it all.
The characters and romance… I have no words! The story is told through both Tarver and Lilac’s perspectives, and thank goodness.The dual perspective was a clever idea; it really benefitted and added to the story as a whole. I loved Tarver from the start: not only is he completely swoon-worthy, but since he is a soldier, he has his manners! Polite and smart, Tarver knows his boundaries and knows when to restrain himself and make the right decisions. Now Lilac was a character I wasn’t so sure about in the beginning because of her sass as a high-class princess, but she really grew on me as the story progressed. Part of this reason was because of Tarver’s influence, which is why I thought their relationship was so strong. I fell head-over-heels for the romance in These Broken Stars. Tarver + Lilac forever!

If I haven’t convinced you enough, I don’t know how else to persuade you to pick this book up. These Broken Stars is one of those books where you can judge the book by its cover– because the story inside is better than this beautiful cover. That’s right, it’s quite phenomenal! It only takes four steps: buy These Broken Stars, read it, fall in love with it, and fangirl about it. Miss Kaufman and Miss Spooner, you guys make an awesome writing team!


– About the Authors –

 Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner are longtime friends and sometime flatmates who have traveled the world (but not yet the galaxy), covering every continent between them. They are sure outer space is only a matter of time. Meagan, who is also the author of the Skylark trilogy, currently lives in Asheville, NC, while Amie lives in Melbourne, Australia. Although they currently live apart, they are united by their love of space opera, road trips, and second breakfasts.
Visit the These Broken Stars website for the latest news on the series and follow the authors on Twitter at @AmieKaufman and @MeaganSpooner. You may also sign up for their newsletter as well! These Broken Stars will be available in North America on December 10, 2013.

If you pre-order the book from Malaprop’s Bookstore, you can also get a collectible TBS poster autographed by the authors!

– Giveaway –

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Stops:
Visit each stop for more exclusive These Broken Stars content and additional chances to earn prizes!

Monday, 11/11     The Midnight Garden
World-Building for the Future
Tuesday, 11/12     Love is Not a Triangle
Author Interview
Wednesday, 11/13  The Perpetual Page-Turner
Using Technology to Write with a Partner
Thursday, 11/14     Good Books and Good Wine
Audiobook Sample + Narrator Interview
Friday, 11/15          The Starry-Eyed Revue
Character Interview with Tarver
Monday, 11/18       Cuddlebuggery                      

Author Interview
Tuesday, 11/19       Books With Bite
Amie & Meg’s Favorite Things
Wednesday, 11/20  Xpresso Reads
Establishing Characters with Role-Playing
Thursday, 11/21     Great Imaginations
Co-Authoring Books
Friday, 11/22          Nawanda Files
Lilac’s Gorgeous Dress: A Look at These Broken Stars’ Cover Art
Visit each stop of the tour for more opportunities to win amazing TBS prizes.

I hope y’all go check this book out, it’s absolutely phenomenal. Happy reading!

5 thoughts on “These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner | Blog Tour review & giveaway”

  1. Oh, I LOVED this one! My review went live today as well. 🙂 I was also happy to find that the cover did not disappoint, and is just as lovely as the contents of the book. 🙂 Yay for swoony romances! Great review!

    Like

  2. Jen!! I'm so excited you loved this book so much because I'm hoping to read it next after my current read. It's hard to believe that the book itself is better than that phenom cover, but I guess I'll take your word for it until I can read it myself! It certainly sounds like it has the whole package.

    Like

  3. I have a copy of this and I can't wait to dig in, as I hear nothing but amazing things. I love romance so it's great to hear this one was really good. Wonderful review, Jen! 🙂

    Like

  4. I myself don't have a long history with amazing sci-fi reads, but when I find a good one I usually tend to fall really hard for them. I think These Broken Stars will be one of those reads. It just sounds amazing. And honestly, how can you not love the cover of this book?

    Like

Leave a Reply

