Tandem by Anna Jarzab | Review


Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Release Date: October 8, 2013
Pages: 428
Source: Netgalley/Random House Children’s
Rating: 4 out of 5
It’s no secret that parallel-universe books are slowly dominating the young adult world and replacing the dystopian and post-apocalyptic books. I’m sad to see those books go, but then again, it’s so refreshing to read about a new concept (although I’m probably going to be saying the same thing about parallel-universe books in a year). But for now, I’m absolutely fascinated with this idea, and Tandem certainly was no disappointment.
Anna Jarzab adds in a great storyline to go along with the parallel universe story and makes it her own. The reader is introduced to analogs, the same person but from a different universe. I felt that the information and background was well-dispersed throughout the novel, and never felt like an info-dump. I fell in love with the world Jarzab created.
Now, the characters. I have to forewarn some of you all that there is definitely a love triangle that appears in the second half of the book, but I honestly can’t decide which love interest I like better. Both boys are likable, kind, and protective. I wish Jarzab gave both boys a more distinctive factor between the two. As for Sasha–the female protagonist herself–she is a very relatable character. I admired the way she dealt with the situations she was in. I felt every ounce of emotion that appeared in her journey: fear, confusion, elation, and hope. The characters in Tandem were a success.
With a strong conclusion to the first installment, Jarzab as got me begging for book two. Tandem is a solid parallel-universe start to a series that I am more than excited to fall in love with. Not only was the world-building fresh and impressive, but the characters were all lovable and real. The best part– Tether, the next book, comes out in June 2014! I highly recommend this book from Anna Jarzab.


One thought on “Tandem by Anna Jarzab | Review

  1. I have to agree with you Jen, I'm definitely finding myself swept away by these books with parallel worlds. I have this book coming up pretty soon, so can't wait to dive into this world and meet these fantastic characters, especially the two love interests! Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

