Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis & How to Love by Katie Cotugno | Mini Reviews


Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Release Date: September 24, 2013

Pages: 320

Source: Edelweiss/HarperCollins

Rating: 4 out of 5

In short, I was very impressed with Not a Drop to Drink. At first glance, this looked to be a typical post-apocalyptic story set in the woods, but it’s far more than that. It deals tremendously with familial relationships and friendships. These character relationships were definitely the strong point for me.
The main character Lynn was so strong and one of those female main protagonists that you just have to root for. She’s hard on the outside, but when she’s approached by strangers who are in dire need of her help, readers see that she’s a little on the soft inside. Lynn is able to grow into a loving girl and I enjoyed watching her relationship with the other characters. There IS a romance, but it’s so subtle and wonderful and the ending UGH.

I describe Not a Drop to Drink as “Little House on the Prairie but darker, grittier, and so much more”. That pretty much sums it all up. Mindy McGinnis is, without a doubt, an author to look out for.

_____

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Release Date: October 1, 2013

Pages: 389

Source: Edelweiss/HarperCollins

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

By first look of the cover, How to Love appears to be a bright, fun-looking contemporary read. But it’s far from that. I can tell you that it’s not particularly a “fun” read, but it surely is a gorgeous one.
How to Love contains very, very messed up characters. Reena had a baby with Sawyer, he leaves for two years, and then comes back, almost begging for forgiveness. They cross paths again, but things have changed. This story revolves around their relationship, but it’s also told from before Reena got pregnant and after. The dual time periods works really well in this story, and the parallelism is enticingly effective.
The characters are frustrating at times during their process of trying to figure each other out, but that’s what made me love them even more. Realistic and raw, the main characters get into fights and struggle, just like any relationship should. AND THAT ENDING. The ending will leave you clutching this book close to your heart. How to Love is a beautiful contemporary with flawed characters who experience genuine relationship problems. This debut is a good one, you guys. I highly recommend it!


4 thoughts on “Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis & How to Love by Katie Cotugno | Mini Reviews

  1. Hi Jen! 🙂 Great mini reviews!! I loved Not A Drop To Drink – I was so in love with the atmosphere and how different this story was from other post-apocalyptic tales I've read. I just adored Mindi's writing! As for the How To Love, this book just didn't do it for me. I really disliked it. I'm glad you had such a different experience, tho! 🙂

    Like

  2. I need to read both of these Jen! I've been delaying on Not a Drop to Drink because I know the ending is going to make me mad, but I was lucky enough to meet Mindy last week and she's just the cutest thing ever so now I need to read it immediately. Can't wait to read How to Love too. I'm hoping the ending you mention is a good one!!!!

    Like

  3. I agree with everything you have to say about How to Love Jen, I went into it expecting something light and fluffy, but was really surprised by the amount of depth and heartache that characters had to deal with. I've also been reading some really promising reviews for Not a Drop to Drink, I really think I will have to give that book a go soon! Lovely reviews Jen! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

