Waiting on Wednesday (#5) – Harper Collins Edition

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, in which we spotlight upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Prisoner of Night and Fog
by Anne Blankman
April 22, 2014

“Obey. Smile when Hitler comes closer. And never, never question him. 

These are the three rules in seventeen-year-old Nazi Gretchen Müller’s life. They’ve kept her safe since Papa died, protecting old family friend Adolf Hitler during a street fight years ago. Until the night in 1931 when Gretchen meets a young, fearless Jewish reporter she’s supposed to despise. But she can’t stop herself from listening to his story — that her father, the adored martyr, was actually murdered. Together, Gretchen and the reporter vow to do whatever it takes to uncover the truth. Even if it means breaking all of Hitler’s rules. Especially the most important one of all: don’t fall in love with the enemy…” [Goodreads]

Ever since I read Night in my freshman year of high school, I’ve been super interested in the Holocaust and survivor stories. This one sounds more YA-toned with the whole “falling in love with enemy”, but it still sounds so good! Really excited for this one.

The Taking
by Kimberly Derting
April 29, 2014

“A flash of white light . . . and then . . . nothing.  

When sixteen-year-old Kyra Agnew wakes up behind a Dumpster at the Gas ’n’ Sip, she has no memory of how she got there. With a terrible headache and a major case of déjà vu, she heads home only to discover that five years have passed . . . yet she hasn’t aged a day. 

Everything else about Kyra’s old life is different. Her parents are divorced, her boyfriend, Austin, is in college and dating her best friend, and her dad has changed from an uptight neat-freak to a drunken conspiracy theorist who blames her five-year disappearance on little green men.  

Confused and lost, Kyra isn’t sure how to move forward unless she uncovers the truth. With Austin gone, she turns to Tyler, Austin’s annoying kid brother, who is now seventeen and who she has a sudden undeniable attraction to. As Tyler and Kyra retrace her steps from the fateful night of her disappearance, they discover strange phenomena that no one can explain, and they begin to wonder if Kyra’s father is not as crazy as he seems. There are others like her who have been taken . . . and returned. Kyra races to find an explanation and reclaim the life she once had, but what if the life she wants back is not her own?” [Goodreads]

I’ve heard great things about Derting’s books, but I still haven’t read a single one by her! I’m really into books where characters wake up and don’t know what the heck happened. The story can go anywhere from there!

After the End
by Amy Plum
May 6, 2014

“World War III has left the world ravaged by nuclear radiation. A lucky few escaped to the Alaskan wilderness. They’ve survived for the last thirty years by living off the land, being one with nature, and hiding from whoever else might still be out there. 

At least, this is what Juneau has been told her entire life. 

When Juneau returns from a hunting trip to discover that everyone in her clan has vanished, she sets off to find them. Leaving the boundaries of their land for the very first time, she learns something horrifying: There never was a war. Cities were never destroyed. The world is intact. Everything was a lie. 

Now Juneau is adrift in a modern-day world she never knew existed. But while she’s trying to find a way to rescue her friends and family, someone else is looking for her. Someone who knows the extraordinary truth about the secrets of her past.” [Goodreads]

You know it. I know it. We’re all still kind of obsessed with post-apocalyptic stories, even if they are getting a little old. They are just so interesting to read about, you know? Plus I love Amy Plum’s Die For Me, so I’m excited to see where she goes outside of paranormal romance.

Say What You Will
by Cammie McGovern
June 3, 2014

“I want someone who will talk to me honestly about things. You’re the only person who ever has. Maybe you don’t know this, but when you’re disabled almost no one tells you the truth. They feel too awkward because the truth seems too sad, I guess. You were very brave to walk up to the crippled girl and say, essentially, wipe that sunny expression off your face and look at reality. That’s what I want you to do next year. Tell me the truth. That’s all. 

Amy and Matthew didn’t know each other, really. They weren’t friends. Matthew remembered her, sure, but he remembered a lot of people from elementary school that he wasn’t friends with now. 

Matthew never planned to tell Amy what he thought of her cheerful facade, but after he does, Amy realizes she needs someone like him in her life. 

As they begin to spend more time with each other, Amy learns that Matthew has his own secrets and she decides to try to help him in the same way he’s helped her. And when what started out as a friendship turns into something neither of them expected, they realize that they tell each other everything—except the one thing that matters most.” [Goodreads]

I immediately thought of Eleanor & Park when I read the synopsis, just something about it seems kind of reminiscent of it. With an innocent romance and just UGH. I want to read this one so much. Hopefully the writing is  awesome, too!

What books are you waiting on this lovely Wednesday? Which reads are you excited about?

6 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday (#5) – Harper Collins Edition”

  1. Oh wow Harper have some exciting books coming out! I am definitely intrigued about The Taking, I love books which deal with memory loss and I think Derting has given us a very promising premise! I also like the sound of Say What You Will! Thanks for putting so many great books on my radar Jen! 🙂

    Like

  2. These all sound really good! I think I'm most looking forward to Prisoner of Night and Fog here. The premise sounds fantastic and that cover is stunning. And I'm curious to see how Amy Plum tackles the post-apocalyptic genre. 🙂 Great picks!

    Like

  3. Amy Plum's Revenants series was one of the first YA series I've read and I thought the idea of undying “zombies” who go around saving people was fantastic! Can't wait for After the End, I'm sure she's got more amazing ideas up her sleeves. As much as I hate to admit it, I judge books by their covers and all the covers here are GORGEOUS. I WANT THEM!!! =D

    Alicia @ Summer Next Top Story

    Like

  4. I'm so excited for Prisoner of Night and Fog – and I'm especially eager to introduce more modern day WWII novels to my students who are required to read Night.

    After the End seems really intriguing to me! I love the premise.

    Like

  5. I've been anticipating Prisoner of Night and Fog, and I'm especially eager to introduce it to my students who are required to read Night.

    I hadn't heard of After the End, but it sounds like my kind of read. Very intriguing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

