Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza | Review

Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Release Date: March 12, 2013
Pages: 470
Source: Library
Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza was an extremely pleasant surprise for me. Having read many mixed reviews for this sci-fi thriller, I had my expectations critically lowered. But Mila 2.0‘s fresh characters, multi-plotted storyline and android elements had me hooked from the beginning until the end. It’s definitely a sci-fi that I’d recommend!

Mila starts off not knowing that she is not human, which, if you think about it, is quite the typical plot for paranormal stories. However, it didn’t bother me much. As an android, Mila’s personality was surprisingly human-like, and highly likable. Since she is a robot and has superhuman abilities, I couldn’t help but admire her for her strong backbone, clever mind, and ultra-fast reflexes. Nicole, Mila’s mother, was also a benefit in this story. Caring and protective, Nicole also proved to be a good partner in crime. The characters in Mila 2.0 were well-crafted and a definite plus in the story.

Beyond any doubt, my favorite quality of Mila 2.0  was the sectioned parts of the story. This book is divided into four parts, and each part represented a different genre, if you will. For example, the first part was composed of a contemporary-like story, and next was a sci-fi, and the one after was very thriller/Hunger Games-y. This method proved to be very refreshing and it kept me on the edge of my toes, eager for more.
Lastly, the robotic/sci-fi stuff was totally awesome in this book! Mila 2.0 showed me that a sci-fi can be very interesting, even with robots. I loved the way Driza approached the reasoning behind the creation of Mila, and the overall backstory. The function of the android itself was intriguing and believable.

As a picky science fiction reader, Mila 2.0 impressed me with it’s honest and delightful cast of characters, refreshing plot, and satisfying androids. Driza’s debut turned out to be a success for me, and I’m eager to get my hands on book two!

rating system 4.5 out of 5
7 thoughts on “Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza | Review

  1. I'm glad that you really enjoyed this one Jen! I never even realized the whole sectioning off thing, seriously. Epic fail. But going back to think about it, it's really neat how the author focused on different genres with each section. I, overall, also enjoyed Mila as a MC, and Nicole was actually a great addition. I really liked how she actually played a role in the story. And I totally agree with the background being really reasonable and interesting. However, I actually thought the plot was pretty predictable, and I saw that last plot twist coming from the very beginning. Maybe it's just because I read more sci-fi? I don't know. I found it bore a lot of similarities to other sci-fi books. Maybe it's just me though.

    Lovely review, Jenny dear! ❤ (I LOVE HOW THAT RHYMES.)

    Like

  2. Oh, this is exciting! Because you're right – most of the reviews for this one around its release date were kind of lukewarm. So it's nice to see another point of view. And this was what I was hoping to read about this one when I first heard about it. I really like your description of the sections – that's interesting! I've been having a hard time finding good sci fi lately, so I'm cheered at the thought that this may be the book I want! I'm going to add this one back to my tbr – thanks, Jen!

    Like

Leave a Reply

