Golden by Jessi Kirby | Review

Golden by Jessi Kirby
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Release Date: May 14, 2013
Pages: 278
Source: Library
Rating: 4 out of 5

I’ve heard of Robert Frost’s poems before, but I have never really thought or took interest in them. In Golden by Jessi Kirby however, I’ve come to appreciate and fall in love with them. Golden provides an insightful outlook on life and the chances you’re given. While I thought the plot was a little slow-moving throughout the story, the ending sold me thoroughly and it left me breathless and happily fulfilled.

Just to get it out of the way, the plot is very draggy throughout the entirety of the novel. Things happen, yes, but nothing monumental or drastic. I was fine with it, but it surely is nap-inducing. I wish the storyline was more eventful and perhaps more heart-palpitating. Nevertheless, the conclusion works out so well that the initial plot is not as negative as it looks to be.

Everything else in this novel is pure gold. First off, the characters are absolutely endearing. The main character Parker Frost is beyond relatable. The connection I felt between Parker and I was so genuine, I could hardly believe she was only a fictional character in a book. Following her mother’s restrictions her entire life (LIKE ME) and then breaking out of her shell is truly something I aspire to do. Parker turned out to be one of the most inspirational characters I have ever read. There’s also a love interest, and I have to say that it is very well done. He’s swoony and flirty, but deeply profound at the same time. I fell instantly for this boy, and while the romance is definitely there, it’s also subtle and doesn’t take away from the main point of the story.

My favorite part of Golden has to be the addition of poetry. Usually when a book has little poetry lines at the beginning of each chapter, I tend to wave them off and not think much of them. However, the lines at the beginning of every chapter in Golden really supplemented the story and added so much more. It’s the little things. Not only is there poetry at the start of each section, but there’s also beautiful prose interwoven in the story  that acts as a catalyst itself. Kirby does this strongly and in a breathtaking way.

So even though the plot is incredibly slow, it’s definitely well worth the read. The reader is able take away important life lessons after reading Golden, and I’m even more fond of Jessi Kirby’s writing and books now. The characters are intensely original and palpable, as well as delightful and engaging. The prose doesn’t fall short, either. And after you flip the last page in this book, you won’t be able to help but wonder, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?

rating system 4 out of 5
3 thoughts on “Golden by Jessi Kirby | Review

  1. This is such a gorgeous review Jen! I loved the journey that Parker went on to discover the truth, but also an a journey of discovery about herself. This was my first book by Kirby and I have to say I can't wait to read more of her books right away! 🙂

    Like

  2. I agree times one hundred about Parker being a relatable character. Sometimes I feel like I need to be doing something more wild, more memorable, just MORE with my life, but what with school and expectations I barely know how. The quote Golden centers around-the one asking what you plan to do with your one wild and precious life-is so striking and thought provoking. It can be hard to take a break from planning for the future and just live in the moment, doing things that make you and those you love happy, but this book can inspire a person to do just that.

    Lovely review of a brilliant book, Jen! I'm glad to hear you connected with it too, and good luck deciding what to do with your one wild and precious life. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

