Paper Valentine by Brenna Yovanoff | Review

Paper Valentine by Brenna Yovanoff

Publisher: Razorbill
Release Date: January 8, 2013
Pages: 304
Source: Library
Rating: 4 out of 5

I’m always looking for a good murder mystery, and with a gorgeous cover like Paper Valentine by Brenna Yovanoff, I couldn’t pass it up. Needless to say, this is a novel in which the book can be judged by its cover because I couldn’t put this book down! With an unpredictable mystery and likable characters, Paper Valentine is a gripping read with a haunting atmosphere.

Surprisingly, I didn’t really like the main character Hannah. Her best friend Lillian had recently died, so Hannah’s personality has taken a turn for the worst. She is a quiet, remote character throughout most of the book. She is a little boring to say the least, and she isn’t the most relatable character out there. However, it’s the side characters that I find most entertaining to read. For example, Lillian appears as a ghost in the story, and her personality is loud and fun. Also, Finny (the love interest) is inexplicably cryptic and definitely a bad-boy hottie. My dislike for Hannah didn’t sway my overall enjoyment for the novel though because the side characters prove to be an outstanding form of character redemption.

Paper Valentine also has an un-put-down-able mystery that I seriously loved. It’s addictive and eerily creepy– it’s exactly the kind of mystery I look for in YA. It’s written really well, and I honestly did not guess who the killer was at all. I love it when authors can deceive readers until the end!

Hooked from the beginning, I highly enjoyed my time spent reading Paper Valentine. I am thoroughly impressed with Yovanoff, and will undeniably scout out her previous works. If you’re looking for a mystery that is exceptionally well done with a great set of characters, this is not one you’ll want to miss.

rating system 4 out of 5
5 thoughts on “Paper Valentine by Brenna Yovanoff | Review”

  1. I was going to say that I didn't really like Hannah either, but I can't actually remember if that's true! I've forgotten quite a bit about this book already… I remember Finny's character though, mainly because he was so unconventional. I'm glad you enjoyed the mystery here, Jen. Lovely review! 🙂

    Like

  2. I rarely ever read books about mystery, especially with murder but this sounds like a good book to start with if I ever feel like reading the genre. I just saw this at the bookstore earlier- too bad I passed it up because I wasn't sure if it was good. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it, despite that Hannah wasn't much of a great character. It's awesome that the supporting characters made up for the MC. I'll definitely get a copy if I ever spot it again. Fab review, Jen!

    Like

  3. I've been purposely avoiding reading your review because I was worried you weren't going to like it. THANK GOODNESS THAT'S NOT THE CASE. I liked it for much different reasons, but that's also because I connected on a very personal level. The mystery was pretty intriguing. And yes, the secondary characters! I adored Lillian. I thought she was quite interesting. And ugh the end. It made me cry so hard haha.

    Like

  4. The cover is so gorgeous that my friends fangirled all over the cover when they saw it, something they NEVER do.
    Hannah didn't annoy me as much as she annoyed you, except when she was doubting Finny. Finny was so cute and adorable that I just wanted to give him a big fat hug. He's normally not the type of guy I'll go for though. ;D
    Awesome review Jen! (:

    Like

  5. Love Brenna Yovanoff! Haven't read Paper Valentine just yet (am planning to, tho!), but I just adored her The Space Between. Her books always end up with those gorgeous, hauntingly beautiful covers that make me drool 😀 I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed this one so much! I love a good murder mystery myself and I know that Brenna is one of the authors who can pull of a creeptastic atmosphere effortlessly! 🙂

    Also, I'm adding you to my blog roll 🙂 Love your blog and review style! 🙂
    Evie @Bookish

    Like

Leave a Reply

