The Luxe by Anna Godbersen | Review

The Luxe by Anna Godbersen

Publisher: HarperCollins

Release Date: November 20, 2007

Pages: 433

Source: Online Audiobook Library/Overdrive

Rating: 3 out of 5

To put it simply, The Luxe by Anna Godbersen is quite a fluffy read. I didn’t think much of it while I was reading it at all. Nothing particularly stands out, but there isn’t anything that I hated, either. The Luxe, if anything, is a fun, entertaining read.

Come to think of it, I was rather bothered by the characters in the beginning. The story is told from the perspective of four girls, which I thought to be completely overabundant and unnecessary. To start off: Elizabeth Holland. She was my favorite to read about among the others simply because she is a good, reverent girl. Diana Holland, Elizabeth’s younger sister, isn’t a bad character, either. Although she is more on the wild side, I found her to be zesty and flavorful with bursts of defiance every so often. The third girl, Penelope, is the most hair-pulling one out of all of them. Penelope is Elizabeth’s best friend; she is a jealous brat who doesn’t think of anyone but herself. It wasn’t that I grew to like her by the end of the novel, but more like I got used to her annoying nature and she because somewhat tolerable. The final perspective is Lina, Elizabeth’s servant. Her perspective is the most puzzling of all; I do not understand why her perspective is included because she is a minor character. The characters in The Luxe proved to be mediocre, some that are capable of a few eye-rolls, and others that deserve some claps.

What makes this story so entertaining is the significant amount of drama that is omnipresent throughout the story. You’ve got death in families, marriages, and crushes. SO MUCH. It’s actually hilarious – and a bit exaggerated – how much drama there is. Dramarama everywhere!

To conclude, The Luxe is nice past-time read if you’re looking for an extremely dramatic story with decently likable characters. I don’t have any intention of picking up the rest of the books in the series, but it was nice while it lasted.

rating system 3 out of 5

3 thoughts on “The Luxe by Anna Godbersen | Review”

  1. I read this a really long time ago! I can barely recall what happened in it now, but I remember thinking that it was readable, but nothing spectacular. I'm glad that it provided some quick entertainment for you, even if you're not planning to continue the series. Lovely review, Jen!

    Like

  2. Oh, I've seen quite a bit about Anna Godbersen's books around the blogosphere! I'm glad you found it to be a nice read. I've never read any of her books, but I'll keep this in mind when I want something fluffy and fun 🙂 Thanks for the review!

    Like

  3. Oh my goodness, The Luxe! I read this entire series when I was in middle school and I remembered I absolutely LOVED it then. However, when I tried to read it again this year, I couldn't get past the third chapter. Guess my taste for books changed A LOT because I'm not really into fluffy books now. D:
    And wait until you get to the end of this series Jen! It was like WHAT!!!
    Anyways, great review! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

