Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller | Review

Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Release Date: September 24, 2013

Pages: 352

Source: Netgalley/Bloomsbury

Rating: 5 out of 5

I remember reading Trish Doller’s debut novel last year, Something Like Normal, and really super enjoyed it. I was more than ecstatic to pick up Where the Stars Still Shine, and, after reading it, I can happily say that this made it to my 2013 favorites.

Laced with a gorgeous writing style throughout the entire novel, Where the Stars Still Shine was a vivid story with a very realistic setting in the small town in Florida. This particular setting really enhanced the story for me, and it was utter perfection.

Not only this, but the characters in this story were also incredibly lovable and heart-wrenching. If I wasn’t from the start, I became so attached to each and every character by the end that I couldn’t help but tear up a little when the story ended. Doller has that affect on you: the one where she creates such authentic characters that you sometimes question why they ended up in a fictional book, and not in reality. Callie, the deeply wounded main character, progresses slowly throughout the story, since she did not live a normal life through her growing years. I have to say that I didn’t agree with all of her decisions, but they were all understandable in her situation. While she doesn’t fully recover by the end of the story, Doller leaves the reader knowing that things do get better for her, and it’s an overall beautiful feeling.

The romance. Oh, the romance. At first, I wasn’t even sure this particular guy in the story was the love interest, but I couldn’t have asked for a better guy for Callie. The romance starts off as a pure insta-lust kind of love, but Doller really dives into the nitty-gritty of it all and it really becomes a romance that is swoon-worthy, genuinely flawed, and real. Have I mentioned that this guy is swoon-worthy? YUM.

I’m not sure if I can go any further to convince you to pick this book up, because seriously, this contemporary is magnificently written with unbelievably real characters and a die-hard romance. Where the Stars Still Shine will make your heart unfold their wings and soar– I bow down to you, Trish Doller.

rating system 5 out of 5

9 thoughts on “Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller | Review”

  1. I didn't think you could convince me any further to go and read this book because I was already dead set on reading it even before I read your review, but omg Jen, you totally did! You don't know how happy I am to hear that you loved this so much! Callie sounds like such a great character and the romance sounds amazing! I can't wait to read this! Thank you for this beautifully written and insightful review, lovely! ❤

    Like

  2. I am so happy about seeing your 5 star rating for this book Jen, I have had my eye on this book forever and so I'm glad that Doller manages to deliver yet again another beautiful read! And thank goodness the wait is nearly over for the rest of us to get our hands on a copy of this lovely book! Wonderful review!

    Like

  3. I love these romances that find a way to sneak up on you! I adored Something Like Normal, it was one of my biggest surprises last year, and I expected a lot from this, but now I'm even more excited. Doller's writing style is exactly the type I can appreciate and her talent for memorable characters is astonishing.
    Lovely review!

    Like

  4. This book made you cry Jen?! Well, sign me up! 😀
    No, I'm not mean. I just like to read books that can make you (in this case me) cry. 😛
    And ahh, I want to know the love interest's name! Why are you torturing us so Jen? ;D

    Like

  5. Wow, Jen! You know when a book makes you cry, it's a good book (unless of course you're crying because of how terrible it is). This book sounds like a “you” kind of book and I think it has the potential to be a “me” kind of book, too, if only I could get over my avoidance of contemporaries more than just, like three times a year. I mean, I really ought to read more of them – it sucks to think I am missing out on gems like this one! Anyways, this was very nicely reviewed!

    Like

  6. I absolutely cannot wait to read Where The Stars Still Shine! Something Like Normal was easily one of the best contemporary novels I read in 2012 and I've been eagerly awaiting a new release from Trish Doller ever since. I think she has a particular talent for writing authentic, nuanced characters that, while not always immediately 'likeable', really capture your heart because they are so endearingly flawed and broken. I appreciate the fact that Doller doesn't make the easy choices for her characters or her story, but rather challenges you to see things from a new perspective you might not otherwise have been able to.

    September 24th can't get here soon enough! Thank you so much for the lovely review, Jen 🙂 I'm all the more excited to read this novel myself, now!

    Like

  7. I was just offered this for review, but I decided to pass on it, as I have so much else to get through these next few weeks. Though now you have me tempted to go back and grab a copy while I can! I'm glad you liked it, Jen. It's fantastic that you were able to attach yourself to all of the characters. I definitely want to meet this love interest now too. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

