The Chaos of Stars by Kiersten White | Review

The Chaos of Stars by Kiersten White

Publisher: HarperTeen

Release Date: September 10, 2013

Pages: 288

Source: Edelweiss/HarperCollins

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Kiersten White is well-known for providing that fun, light-hearted quality when writing stories for teens. I knew this going into The Chaos of Stars, and I got exactly that. The Chaos of Stars is an enjoyable novel that reads a lot like a contemporary, but is infused with Egyptian mythology that makes it all the more interesting. There are some minor flaws here and there, but overall I adore this masterpiece White has crafted for her fans.

The main protagonist Isadora is easily one of my favorite aspects about this novel. From the start, the reader learns that she is extremely passionate about interior design and it really shows. I always love when a character is particularly devoted to  something, and can find a hobby that comforts them. Not only this, but Isadora is also a stubborn girl, which may come off as a negative quality, but to me it shows that she is strong and steadfast in her opinions. She also believes that her parents don’t love her, which leads to her understanding that love doesn’t exist forever. Her judgment changes in the story and seeing the light appear in her eyes was a great part in her character development.

Speaking of love, I have kind of mixed feelings about the romance, but more on the positive side. It starts off as a bit insta-love, but White proves that their lust transforms into real love by the end of the story. In fact, their love starts off as a bit of a crush, and it’s a one-sided relationship more than anything. But the romance worked for me, and I ended up really liking where their bond proceeds.

Lastly, the plot of the story is really fun and entertaining. Isadora moves from Egypt to America near the beginning of the story, and it takes off from there. She learns about cars, Coca-Cola, working at a museum, etc., and it reads very much like a contemporary. The Egyptian mythology is definitely present, though. I’m not too familiar with Egyptian mythology myself, but I think White did a good job of utilizing the gods. However, the minor complaint I have about this is that there are tiny little snippets of information at the beginning of each chapter that felt a bit like info-dumps, and I didn’t think they were all that necessary. White could have mixed the mythology lesson into the story more skillfully than that.

My final verdict: the Egyptian mythology sprinkles are a nice addition to the story, but it reads much more like a contemporary with a strong main female protagonist and an okay romance. I’m happy to say that the White’s writing style kept the story light on its feet. If you’re a fan of mythology and you’re in the mood for something quick and fun, I explicitly recommend The Chaos of Stars!

rating system 3.5 out 5

5 thoughts on “The Chaos of Stars by Kiersten White | Review”

  1. I'm not a huge fan of insta-love, so I doubt the romance would work for me in this, but I'm glad to see you enjoyed this one, Jen. White's books all just seem to be “fun”, possibly because of her writing, so after the Paranormalcy Trilogy I really want something MORE from her. I really do love mythology, though, so maybe I'll give this one a try. Wonderful review, dear!(:

    Like

  2. I was not a fan of my first Kiersten White read, Mind Games. It just didn't work for me. But this one, hmmm… I wonder if I might enjoy this one more. On the one hand, I think I would enjoy Isadora's character more than the characters from Mind Games (which was one of my main issues with the novel), but on the other hand, I would much rather this read more as paranormal or fantasy than contemporary mostly. But that's just me! I am really interested in the Egyptian mythology aspect in any case, so I'll keep it on my tbr anyways. This was a very helpful review for me, Jen! So thanks!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

