The Truth About You and Me by Amanda Grace | Review

The Truth About You and Me by Amanda Grace

Publisher: Flux

Release Date: September 8, 2013

Pages: 229

Source: Netgalley/Flux

Rating: 3 out of 5

I’ve always had the morbid curiosity about student-teacher relationships ever since I watched Pretty Little Liars. The synopsis for this story instantly intrigued me, and although the format for The Truth About You and Me is unique and works out well, everything else falls a little flat.

The one quality that stands out (besides the forbidden relationship) in The Truth About You and Me is the story-telling, or, rather, the format. Madelyn, the main protagonist, writes letters to Bennett, the love interest. I found that this way of revealing their relationship works really well and it’s a nice change from the usual third person POV. Somehow, it makes it easier to be fully engaged and captivated in her story.

Sadly, that’s pretty much all I liked in this book. My biggest issue is the romance between Madelyn and Bennett. It’s love at first sight, and throughout the book, their relationship doesn’t grow, and the reasoning behind their love for each other isn’t revealed. During the story, I feel that Madelyn only loves Bennett because she has the urge to be rebellious after so many years of following her parents’ instructions. And Madelyn herself comes off as a very creepy 16 year-old girl pining over a 26 year-old man. It’s weird to say that I liked Bennett more as a character because he felt much more like the innocent victim being dragged into Madelyn’s world.

And just on a little side-note: Madelyn’s 16, and going into her freshman year of college. She’s supposedly extremely smart. Nowhere in the book did she display her intelligence. I’m not just saying she made a dumb decision by going out with her teacher, but book-smart-wise; even in her classrooms she didn’t seem very smart.

I guess the unbelievable-ness in The Truth About You and Me is the problematic area for me. The romance between the student and teacher isn’t there; their chemistry is nonexistent. Her supposed intelligence did not shine through in any scene. Along with that, Madelyn is an uncomfortable character to read about, and the only positive (and redeeming) quality is the way the story is told. Overall, Amanda Grace took a shot at writing this forbidden relationship, but there are so many flaws that I think it is just okay.

rating system 3 out of 5

7 thoughts on “The Truth About You and Me by Amanda Grace | Review”

  1. Yes I had a lot of the issues with this book that you mentioned too Jen, the way the story was written didn't really appeal to me, I didn't like how Madelyn would stop occasionally and ask a question. Also some of the things she didn't weren't intelligent at all as you said, I really did fell for Bennett at times. Howver despite the issues I did rate this book three starts like you did, as it did have some redeeming aspects too. Lovely review!

    Like

  2. I completely agree about her intelligence being told to us but definitely not shown by any of her decisions on this book! I did find they had a lot of chemistry personally but I still found there was something missing from the character building. I felt they were stereotypical mostly. Great review!

    Like

  3. Yes, absolutely! I noted the same issue you did (I just posted my review too earlier this week!), mainly that I didn't really believe it was a love story, and much more a teenage rebellion story.
    And I didn't feel the chemistry either. She sounded like a teenage girl pining on a rock star; I was so ready for her to just admit in the end that she had imagined it all! Sadly, that wasn't the case.
    The format was good though, I agree.

    Like

  4. Sigh. This book sounded really good, so I'm sad to hear you didn't like it. I agree that teacher-student relationships can be strangely fascinating, but this one does not sound well done at all. Madelyn should be smart enough to not involve herself in that kind of thing, which already makes the romance seem unbelievable, not even having read the book. Character inconsistencies like this are so annoying.

    However, I am a sucker for a different storytelling style, so I'll probably still check this one out anyway. Thanks for setting my expectations where they need to be!

    Like

  5. I've seen a lot of mainly negative reviews for this one. I love the concept and format of this, but little else seems to have worked. I recently read Unteachable, though, which is a New Adult teacher-student relationship that's actually done really well. Although it has a bit of insta-attraction to it, both the characters are fairly messed up and by the end, it really pulls through. I'd try that one if you wanted more of the forbidden romance type. 🙂

    Like

  6. I think a lot of your concerns could have been included in the book if the author took another avenue in writing it. Maybe if it was more in real time and not letters? There was definitely some details missing, and I think I liked that the teacher was kind of a victim in this one. Everyone always assumes they know how these situations go, and this really showed another side. I liked the writing, and felt compelled by the characters esp. because they did show such self-control. I think this book was less about a “fordbidden romance” and more about a very immature girl and consequences on both sides.

    Like

Leave a Reply

