Tie a Bow on It: August 2013 Wrap-Up

August 2013 Wrap Up - Banner

Image from We Heart It

NO NO NO NO. Why is summer over already?! This can’t be happening. School already? I’ll be talking about some changes later on in a different post, but August was quite a good month for me!

favorite books this month - bannerEasy by Tammara Webber - PolaroidEasy by Tammara Webber - DescriptionThe Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider - PolaroidThe Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider - DescriptionCity of Ashes by Cassandra Clare - PolaroidCity of Ashes by Cassandra Clare - DescriptionCity of Glass by Cassandra Clare - PolaroidCity of Glass by Cassandra Clare - DescriptionCrown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas - PolaroidCrown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas - Description

three things that happened this month - banner

  • I beta-read for a bloggy friend for the first time ever. One of my best blog friends, Willa from Willa’s Ramblings, asked if I would like to beta-read her story and I did some critiquing! It was a lot of fun to read what she wrote.
  • Saw The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones movie! Unfortunately, I didn’t see this during midnight, but I wore a Shadowhunter shirt and I got a HUUUGE movie poster for being a big fan! The movie was quite good, I want to see it again!
  • Roadtripped with the family. I roadtripped to drop off my older sister at college, and I ate SO MUCH FOOD. Oh I love roadtripping.

three new bloggy discoveries

  • Rachel from Hello, ChellyI love reading this girl’s reviews, they are seriously clean, to the point, and very helpful. And her blog design is to die for! ❤ (plus she's Asian. GO ASIANS.)
  • Annie from Random ReadsAnnie is so sweet! She recently started commenting on my blog and I decided to check HER blog out, and I fell in love. She actually just reached her one year blogoversary, so go congratulate her!
  • Hazel from Stay BookishOMGFDAFAOEP her blog design. One of my favorites! Hazel is a somewhat new blogger, and she has such cool features on her blog! Definitely a must-follow.

music musings - banner

Okay so basically all this month I’ve listening to recommendations from Vy’s Blog and Rachel Reads. THEY GIVE GOOD RECS.

Music Musings - Banner

five September releases I'm looking forward to

five September releases I'm looking forward to- Collage

  • All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill: Time travel? HECK YES.
  • Cherry Money Baby by John M. Cusick: I love stories about small town life to big glam cities. This one is a must read for me!
  • Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell: I have a feeling I’ll be able to relate to this main character a lot. FANGIRLS FTW.
  • This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales: A story about a girl who finds passion in music and finds herself? Yessss, I love these!
  • Vicious by V.E. Schwab: Even though this one’s an adult read, the supernatural elements sounds so cool, plus I love Victoria’s writing.

So that’s it for me for the month of August! What good books did you read this month? Any new music favs? What AWESOME releases are you looking forward to in September?

15 thoughts on “Tie a Bow on It: August 2013 Wrap-Up”

  1. I am so glad to see Easy at the top of your list Jen, I still need to read my copy. And you have so much awesomeness to look forward to in September! I loved All Our Yesterdays and This Song Will Save Your Life, so I can't wait to see how you get on with them. I hope September is a fabulous reading month for you! 🙂

    Like

  2. MORTAL INSTRUMENTS!! I've only just finished City of Bones a few days ago and THAT ENDING. I don't know how I'm going to live through the rest of the series anymore =( I'm going to watch the movie next week and I've been hearing not-so-amazing reviews for it… Feeling quite worried! Hopefully it won't ruin my image of the book because my heart won't be able to take it. EEESH. MY FEELINGS ARE ALL A JUMBLED MESS!!! My friends have been teasing me with true/fake spoilers and I really need to get on the series before the anticipation kills me xD

    Alicia @ Summer Next Top Story

    Like

  3. Hey there!
    I loved Easy!!! That was my first NA, and it's still the best I've read. Also, I'm about to dive into Crown of Midnight, so it's nice to see that you enjoyed it so much 😉 Hopefully, I will, too!!
    Ninja Girl

    Like

  4. Totally agree, Easy is one of my favourite NA books to date. I'm just reading City of Bones now and I'm loving it and I'm seeing the movie Thursday which I can't wait. I like you will probably dress as a Shadowhunter as I'm a major fan of the Infernal Devices. Hehe! Crown of Midnight is also one of my favourite reads this month as well. Love the new design! 🙂

    Like

  5. Yay for road trips! I haven't been on one myself but hopefully one day, I'll road trip around the world. So glad you liked The Beginning of Everything. Roller coasters on covers never fail to pique my interest and I'm always looking for male protagonists!

    And thanks for mentioning me! I'm happy you like my blog because I LOVE your blog. Why oh why didn't I find it earlier?

    I've only heard three of the songs you featured but the rest are all by artists I either love or want to know! So I will for sure be checking them out. Always love to find new music!

    Ugh, school. Not excited. I'm still in vacation mode and it's hard to imagine that I have to trudge my lazy bum to class every day for the next few months.

    Anyway, I hope your September is as great as August was!

    Like

  6. I am looking forward to All our Yesterdays and Vicious as well! I also can't wait for The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater.
    I thought the City of Bones movie was good too! I liked it much more than I thought I would.
    I am looking forward to September!

    Like

  7. Jen, I love these monthly wrap-ups of yours and I can't wait for Vicious this months myself. It just sounds fantastic! And I'm so glad to see you enjoyed the end of TMI trilogy! I haven't read the continuation of the series since I felt as if those first three were perfect, but I'll be looking out for your thoughts if you choose to continue. Wonderful post, dear!(:

    Like

  8. JEN YOU ARE THE SWEETEST I SUPER WANNA HUG YOU RIGHT NOW!!! Thank you so much for mentioning me. ❤ Anyway, I'm so excited to get to read The Beginning of Everything- I loved your review for it. I already have a copy but I have to read the books from my earlier book hauls first. *sad face* I miss road trips! It's been a while since I went on one. I love making playlists for trips and singing along! Speaking of, I'm listing down your music recs. I haven't heard of them and I always love listening new sounds. Also, I can't wait to get my hands on this month's releases! I'm psyched about Fangirl, All Our Yesterdays, and This Song Will Save Your Life too! 😀

    Like

  9. WOO IT'S A WRAP-UP POST BY JEN! I AM SO PSYCHED TO READ THIS! 😀 And before I start, let me just say I am currently listening to Boyce Avenue. I am now officially an addict because of you, girl.

    But, ahem, anyways, I can't believe summer is over already too. Le sigh. I dislike school and all the stress that comes with it. I'm looking forward to seeing the changes you have planned, and I hope they're good ones though!

    I'm so glad to see that you enjoyed City of Ashes and City of Glass. I wasn't the biggest fan of CoA, but I LOVED City of Glass to pieces. I thought it was perfect in so many ways!! It's definitely my favorite in the series so far, although I did really enjoy CoLS as well. Also, I am so excited to pick up The Beginning of Everything! It looks awesome. I like insightful contemps (as long as they don't break my heart too much!), and so I'm looking forward to see what I can glean from this book. 😀

    Also, WOO for beta-reading! We did WELL, if I do say so myself. 😉 Also, CITY OF BONES MOVIE. I haven't see it yet… but soon. Especially after all that Robbie fan-girling we've been doing… 😉 Yayay for road trips as well! I feel like road trips are the perfect excuse to eat as much crap food as you can stuff into your mouth, really. NO regrets on road trips.

    Plus, YAYAY for new blogs to follow! I trust your taste so much, and so I'm going to check those out right now. =) They seem so awesome! <3

    It looks like I have new music to listen to this month! I think it's clear that you and I have similar music tastes after the whole Boyce Avenue thing (seriously, I'm listening to Lego House by Boyce Avenue at this moment, and my heart is breaking a little because it's sooo good). But I've heard Alive by Krewella before, and really like it! I've heard a lot about Hunter Hayes, but haven't heard anything from him yet, so I will definitely be checking out I Want Crazy. I've been a hit and miss with Mumford and Suns, but I will try the song you recc'd.

    I am DYING for All Our Yesterdays, since basically every review I've read thus far has been raving about the awesomeness. I AM SO EXCITED. Plus, I've heard awesome things about This Song Will Save Your Life, and I luuurve the concept, so I'm dying for that one as well. Cherry Money Baby also looks so good!

    AWESOME SAUCE post, Jenny dear, and good luck with school and all as that starts up! You are gonna ACE this school year, girl!

    Like

  10. I know I already said thank you on Twitter but I'm going to say it again – thank you for all the kind words 🙂 I really like how you set up your monthly recap! You read a lot of great books this month and the original TMI trilogy are some of my favorite books. Are you going to read Books 4 and 5 soon? Let me know what you think! And I'm really excited about This Song Will Save Your Life too. A friend just lent it to me… so I hope it meets my expectations! (I'm expecting it to be awesome haha).

    Like

  11. YAY that you had an awesome August, even with the prospect of school on the horizon. I know this year is going to be insane for you, but you are going to do fabulously. We'll miss your thoughtful posts and comments, but I wish you the best of luck in acing all your classes and excelling in dance.

    I'm so glad to hear good things about Willa's book! I get to participate in a later round of beta reading and am absolutely ecstatic. She's going to get published someday and we'll be the blogging best friends she knew before becoming famous.

    As for the books, This Song Will Save Your Life is brilliant and All Our Yesterdays is worthy of anticipation as well. I am wishing for Cherry Money Baby too because I love good satire.

    *drools over beauty of boating wrap-up graphic before signing off*

    Like

  12. This Song Will Save Your Life is a really great story! It has a very hopeful message. There are also so many amazing releases coming out next month.

    That's so cool you got the chance to beta-read. It sounds like it'd be a lot of fun. Crown of Midnight also sounds amazing! I still have to read the first, but I've heard nothing but good things about both. Great post 🙂

    Like

  13. The Beginning of Everything was so, so good! I also can't wait to read This Song Will Save Your Life! I've heard so many wonderful things 🙂 Looks like you had a great month!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

