Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas | Review

 Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Release Date: August 27, 2013

Pages: 432

Source: Netgalley/Bloomsbury

Rating: 5 out of 5

This review is spoiler-free for the series.

I’m not going to beat around the bush; I’m going to flat out admit that Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas is a fantastic follow-up to Throne of Glass. It’s just as action-packed, intense, and mysterious– except this sequel is amplified. Everything you loved in book one is bigger and better in Crown of Midnight.

Our main character Celaena Sardothien continues to be a fierce, bad-ass female protagonist that I grew to love even more with each page. With more fight scenes come more opportunities to show that Celaena really is a frighteningly relentless assassin that the bad guys should look out for. Not only this, but the reader gets a chance to relate to Celaena on a more emotional level in Crown of Midnight. She experiences change and not the best kind, either. I felt that this sequel provided a strong emotional connection between the reader and Celaena.

While the story is still told in third person perspective, this varied POV is broadened even more when the reader is able to learn more about the side characters as well. I particularly liked this because in Throne of Glass, we got glimpses of so-and-so’s thoughts, but in Crown of Midnight, we become good friends and understand and recognize them like the back of our own hands.

The fantasy world that was introduced in Throne of Glass gets better– yes, you heard right! Initial questions are answered, but Maas dumps more mysteries into the characters hands to figure out, and more discoveries are made. I was fully immersed in this aspect of the story because I just couldn’t get enough of everything! It’s truly believable and fascinating. And can we just talk about those plot twists? JAW. DROPPING. So many surprises that I totally wasn’t expecting! It makes me even more eager for book three.

So if you couldn’t tell already, I highly enjoyed Crown of Midnight. It lived up to Throne of Glass, and more importantly, my expectations. This fantasy world of Erilea is a place I’d love to visit, and thankfully Maas makes it very easy to imagine and be a part of. With intensified character development/understanding, action-scenes, and world-building, Crown of Midnight is not a sequel that you want to miss. If you loved book one, there is no way you’re not checking out book two!

rating system 5 out of 5

10 thoughts on “Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas | Review”

  1. Great Review Jen! I finished Crown of Midnight this weekend and boy THE FEELS! They killed me. But this was such a great novel and I thought it was even better then book one. I loved the whole fantasy aspect, its hooking and intriguing and one of the great factors of the series. I love that we could connect with Celaena more in this one too, as well as the other characters. The ending was one I didn't see coming. Can't wait for book three. That reminds me, I need to post my review soon.

    Like

  2. JEN! I'm so glad you loved this! I actually caught your review a couple of days ago but didn't have the chance to comment. Can I just say how happy I am to see you give this 5 stars? 😀 It was definitely an impressive read for me too and I totally agree that everything is bigger and better here than compared to the first (and I LOVED the first). Some of the plot twists caught me by surprise too. I can't wait to see what happens next! Fantastic review, hon.

    Like

  3. I wasn't a huge fan of Throne of Glass, but I've been hearing that this sequel is a LOT better and am really excited to dig into it. I especially like that the world-building improves a lot. I'm still sketchy on the love triangle, so I might just wait for Book 3 before picking this up so that I can see how the triangle plays out, but you've definitely convinced me to pick this one up. Thanks, Jen! Fantastic review! 🙂

    Like

  4. Eeeek, can't wait CAN'T WAIT to read this!! I am so stoked to hear that you thought this was such a superb follow-up! I love that we get to know and relate to Celaena more. I love that we get to see more POVs. And I love love LOVE plot twists! Bring them on, I say! I didn't think I could be more excited for this book, but I think your review officially accomplished that, Jen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

