The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey | Review

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Publisher: Putnam Juvenile

Release Date: May 7, 2013

Pages: 457

Source: Library

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey was the hottest topic for quite a few months surrounding its release. I was definitely curious to read it, wondering how good a book can be. Perhaps it was because I had set such high expectations for this novel, but while The 5th Wave was a brilliant read, it disappointed me in a few areas here and there.

The first thing I noticed within the opening chapters of The 5th Wave was Rick Yancey’s writing. It’s exquisite and sophisticated. Throughout the entire novel, it flows very nicely and it’s easy to read. Yancey’s exceptional writing style stands out and helps supplement this action-packed story.

The one surprising quality – and downfall – of this novel is the multiple perspectives. Having stories told in more than one POV is usually a hit-or-miss for me, but it turned out to be in-between for me in this case. The story starts off with the main character Cassie’s POV, and after each “part”, a few others are introduced. I was taken aback by it, and I can’t say I like it very much. I was constantly confused in the beginning, but after awhile I grew accustomed to it. Needless to say, Cassie’s perspective is more favorable than the others, for some reason in which I cannot pinpoint. Her sarcastic voice? Her more interesting story? Either way, the various viewpoints is not something that is suitable for me, but I can see why it had to be done in order to make the story work.

Other than that, The 5th Wave is quite the exhilarating read with a complex storyline, since it follows many main characters. The way I think about this book is that it’s divided into a post-apocalyptic section as well as a dystopian/sci-fi section (which is much like Ender’s Game). Both are very fast-paced and intense, making this book a very hard one to put down, even for just a quick breath of air.

Finally, the character relationships in this novel is done expertly and realistically. You’ve got romantic, friend, family, and enemy relationships all in this complex book. Fortunately, I liked every one of them. The way each character interacts with each other is particularly interesting because in an alien-invaded world, you can trust no one. The deception and doubt of trust is spine-tingling and heart-pounding.

To sum up, The 5th Wave shines brightly among all of the post-apocalyptic/dystopian reads with its exquisite composition, action-packed story, and realistic character relationships. The one downfall is the multiple perspectives, but the story itself is still one that no one should be skipping out on. The 5th Wave is exciting, thrilling, and simply put, a page-flipper.

rating system 4.5 out of 5

16 thoughts on “The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey | Review

  1. The 5th Wave is actually the September's BOTM for a book club I'm in so I'm glad to have read your review! The story sounds very much like Michael Grant's Gone, which I enjoyed! Gone had an overflowing amount of character POVs too and I was pretty much okay with it. Great review, Jen! I'll definitely be picking this up soon. 😀

    Like

  2. So glad you liked this, I really enjoyed it, too! I also found it exciting and exhilarating but I didn't mind the multi-PoVs 🙂

    Like

  3. I'm so glad that you enjoyed The 5th Wave too Jen, I was a little wary going into this book, as there was so much hyper surrounding this book, but I'm so glad that I gave it a go because I absolutely loved it. I agree I did prefer Cassie's pov over everyone elses, but another character also won me over too. I can't wait to see how things will go in the next book. Brilliant review!

    Like

  4. I'm glad you liked this one! I I agree with the exquisite writing. I found this quite suspenseful and a page turner 🙂 I was really confused by the change in POV at the very beginning, but once I got through at, everything seemed to fall into place. I'm so looking forward to the next book in the series 😀

    Like

  5. I've heard nothing but fantastic things about this book Jen! I think the multiple POVs will be a slight problem for me as well as I typically struggle when there's more than a dual perspective in books, but it sounds like that was a relatively minor drawback and you clearly loved it overall. I really need to make time for this book. I say that way too often, but there are just so many books out there I want to experience!

    Like

  6. I'm so conflicted about whether or not I should read this ;/ There are so many diverse opinions about The 5th Wave and all from bloggers whose opinion I trust… I think it's time to give it a try myself, hah. But the whole too-many-points-of-view is kind of concerning.

    Anyway. I'm glad the relationships between the characters are worth it! And Cassie sounds like she would be an interesting heroine c:

    Like

  7. I thought Cassie's POV is the most interesting as well. The different POVS sometimes irritated me, but overall I thought the way it is written is a nice change from some of the other dystopian/sci-fi coming out recently.

    Like

  8. Woo, I just won a giveaway in which I could choose what book I won, and I ended up choosing The Fifth Wave, on a total whim. So it seems like I made the right decision! 😀 I'm loving the sound of this writing style, it sounds gorgeous, really. There's not enough of beautiful writing in YA! Also, I love the sound of this complex storyline. That sounds like my THING, girl. I love when things are twisted up together, complicated, and wonderfully twisted. Also, YAY for family relationships that are actually well done! Also, enemy relationships that are well done as well? This has me super intrigued… Although it sucks that you couldn't quite enjoy the multiple POVs. Normally those are also hit and miss for me, although they tend to be more on the hit side. 😉 But some of them here seem kind of boring, which is when multiple POVs are a DEFINITE miss. At least you did enjoy Cassie's!

    Beautiful review as always, Jen! ❤

    Like

  9. I'm really happy you enjoyed this Jen! The 5th Wave has been sitting on my nightstand for two months now and I haven't even flipped a page. I think I'm a bit scared to pick it up because of all the hype. I loved Rick Yancey's book The Monstrumologist so I know that I won't be disappointed (too) badly but ahhhhh, I'm dreading this book. Because I SO don't want to hate it. But I'm happy you liked this one! Sooner or later, the sheer amount of bloggers who like this book will be too much for me and I'll just HAVE to read it.

    Like

  10. I have heard so many amazing things about this book and I am really looking forward to getting around to it hopefully soon. I love the sound of the premise, and the writing. It really tells you a lot about an author when they can hook with their writing. I can't wait to meet all the characters, and see how each one is different from the rest. Although, I am not a fan of multiple points of views. They always get me confused, but I am glad that this one sorts itself out. I can't wait to pick this up! Glad you enjoyed this, Jen! Great review! 😀

    ~ Maida
    Literary Love Affair

    Like

  11. I have to agree with you about multiple POVs. I would barely get used to one, only to be forced to switch to someone else for abotu a hundred pages or more. IT made things unnecessarily difficult. But other than that, this was such an excellent read and so worthy of the hype. I can't wait to read the sequel, even with the possible love triangle I smell coming.

    Like

  12. Yeah, I loved the multiple perspectives personally, but I can see why others who are not a fan of them would not have liked it in this story. I can also understand people being let down when they read this after the insane hype, which seems to work equally in favour and against books. But I'm really pleased to hear that it was a largely good experience for you, Jen!! Isn't Rick Yancey's writing incredible?? I think he's a genius. Great, great review!

    Like

  13. Cassie's point of view definitely worked better for me too. Although I didn't exactly dislike the use of multiple perspectives here (as I generally tend to in other books), I think I could have easily liked this book just as much – if not more – from a single point of view. I wasn't entirely keen on the romance either, but other than that, I really loved this book, and I'm glad to see it worked for you too. Lovely review as always, hon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

