Covet by Tracey Garvis Graves | Review

Covet by Tracey Garvis Graves

Publisher: Dutton Adult

Release Date: September 17, 2013

Pages: 320

Source: Netgalley/Dutton

Rating: 4 out of 5

I don’t usually gravitate towards Women’s Fiction, but last year I read Tracey’s debut, On the Island because of a blogger friend’s recommendation, and I fell head over heels for it. I knew I had to pick up Covet. I find that Tracey’s second novel is entertaining, but my high standards fell a little short.

The story is told from three perspectives: Claire, a woman in her mid-thirties, Chris, Claire’s husband, and Daniel, a potential love interest. It mostly follows Claire, but I have to admit that I had a hard time relating to her. Now it could be that she is nearly two decades older than I am, but a lot of her decisions are ones that I frown upon. I understand why she made those decisions, but I don’t particularly like them. Surprisingly, it is Chris that I actually enjoy reading about in this story. He’s not swoon-worthy-likable in that kind of way, but his character felt very palpable. His stress, love for his family, and his innocence are all qualities that are legitimate. I just felt so empathetic towards him, especially what he had to go through (sorry for being so vague, I just don’t want to spoil!).

The plot for this story is rather simple, yet filled with tons of tension. A lot of the situations are adult-like: Claire and Chris discuss their money problems, unemployment jobs, insurance, etc. This is all very realistic, but I found it to be quite boring at times. The rest of the story is filled to the brim with some good friend & family time, dishonesty, and tragedies. It kept me entertained to see where the character relationships would go and what plot twists would happen next.

In all, Covet could have been a better read for me, but it’s still enjoyable nonetheless. I wasn’t able to relate particularly to Claire, but I was able to sympathize with some of the side characters. The plot is effortless, but not banal. It’s a fairly quick and easy book to read, it just flies by and it’s fun. While it isn’t as good as On the Island, I’m glad I picked this one up, for I am still a fan of Tracey Garvis Graves!

rating system 4 out of 5

9 thoughts on “Covet by Tracey Garvis Graves | Review”

  1. I have this book to read for next month. I also read a ton of great things about On the Island (but I still haven't read it) so I'm interested to try out her writing. THIS COVER IS GORGEOUS, and I read a lot of “grown up” books so it'll be interested to see how it measures up to what I've been reading lately.

    I'm sorry you didn't completely connect with it, but I'm glad you gave it a chance! 🙂 Thx for the feedback!

    Like

  2. I have heard a lot about On the Island too, and I am really looking forward to reading it soon. This sounds like a fun read. I do like the sound of the characters, and the simple plot but I don't know about all the real-life aspects. But then again, this is chick-lit, so I'm not surprised. I don't usually gravitate towards that genre, but I think with this I can make an exception. I'm glad to see you enjoyed this, despite some of your concerns! Great review, Jen! 😀

    ~ Maida
    Literary Love Affair

    Like

  3. I'm so excited you enjoyed this, Jen. I know it's hard to relate to someone two decades older than you but I'm glad you like the story anyhow. I think it was a very realistic slice of married life. The secondary characters were all quite interesting as well. I did love Chris and Claire and I rooted for them to get back to happiness. Wonderful review, Jen! 🙂

    Like

  4. I'm really glad you enjoyed Covet, even if Claire was a little unrelatable, but at least Chris kind of balanced out Claire. I haven't heard much of this book, even though I got it at BEA, but I might decide to read this one soon because the plot line does sound very intriguing, aside from the parts where it got boring, and I'm happy that you liked the side characters.

    Fantastic review, Jen!

    Like

  5. I won a copy of On the Island a while back, but I haven't had a chance to read it yet. I've heard such fantastic things though!

    Although Covet was a little difficult to fully relate to, I'm glad you still appreciated the characters' stories. But I can understand why reading about money problems, unemployment, insurance and whatnot might have been slightly boring. I probably would have found it as such too. Still, it sounds like a good book overall.

    Great review, Jen! 🙂

    Like

  6. Wow, good for you for reading an adult book! I'm an adult and I rarely read them, ha. I find I can't really relate to the characters and the type of things they deal with either, so I can see why you would find it boring. Though it does sound like you had other legitimate reasons for not relating to Claire. Pretty cover though! And nicely reviewed.

    Like

  7. As I just finished reading Tracey Garvis-Grave's On The Island late last week, I was very excited to see your review for her latest publication, Covet. While I'm not sure that her narrative style is to my particular taste, I do ordinarily find her concepts intriguing. That said, I typically avoid novels about infidelity at all costs, and I also don't usually enjoy novels told from such a variety of perspectives. I have a feeling I would have a very difficult time warming up to and sympathizing with Claire, and at this point have no intention of reading Covet given what I now know about it. I'm sorry that it wasn't able to live up to your expectations, particularly given how much you seem to have enjoyed Grave's On The Island 😦

    Like

  8. Ooh, this is published by Dutton Adult! I was somehow whitelisted for them when I was put on the blog tour for Dirty Little Secret. Whatever the case, I may just go ahead and request this one. I obviously don't read much adult either, but it's awesome that you've found an author to love! This one seems like a quick and enjoyable read, but nothing really more than that. I always have issues with books where I can't connect with the MC, since we see everything from their eyes. So it's said you weren't able to relate very well to Claire, but at least you did relate to Chris a bit! The plot seems interesting, although a little boring considering all the boring 'adult talk'. 😉

    Lovely review, as always Jen dear! ❤ Sorry you didn't enjoy this one as puch On the Island, but at least you DID like it. =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

