The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider | Review

The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

Publisher: Katherine Tegen

Release Date: August 27, 2013

Pages: 330

Source: Edelweiss/HarperCollins

Rating: 5 out of 5

I don’t even know where to start with The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider. This book left me in awe, and it’s one of those books where, after you finish reading it, you kind of collapse on your bed and just sit there to think for a little bit. I know I did. It starts off great, and ends on an even more uplifting note. There are too many amazing things to say about The Beginning of Everything.

For example, the first thing that catches the reader’s attention is Schneider’s writing style. It’s smart, expressive, and hilarious. It works really well with this novel in particular, and it reminds me of John Green’s witty writing style (which I love!). Secondly, this book is told from a male’s perspective, and I must give Robyn a round of applause for doing such a great job. Schneider does this so particularly well in fact, I forgot that this book is written by a female author. 

The characters are the real gem in this story, especially the change they all go through. My favorite development is with the main character Ezra. Previously a star tennis player and part of the popular crowd, he feels like he no longer belongs after a tragic accident he experiences. However, he reunites with old friends and meets new ones, and he unknowingly searches to find himself. I found this to be an inspirational adventure. Along the way, he meets Cassidy, an enigmatic girl who speaks by poetry and riddles. I personally didn’t like how their romance ended, but it’s one of those cases where it HAD to happen and it makes sense the way it did. As the characters in The Beginning of Everything learn and grow in the story, the reader isn’t able to help but go along for the ride and feel the character’s sentiments just as if they were their own.

Lastly, the overall message and feeling for this book plays a huge factor in my enjoyment for this novel. I’m not going to say what the specific moral of the story is, but the general affect is a positive one, pleasing and optimistic. The ending is a bit open-ended in a way, however it’s just enough that you know Ezra will go the right path in his life. The conclusion is inexplicably and undoubtedly tender, inspirational, and satisfying.

*takes deep breath* The Beginning of Everything is an insightful novel that John Green fans won’t want to miss. With an intelligent writing style, real to-the-bone characters, and an outstanding overall conclusion, I highly recommend this beautiful story.

AND AND AND, Cassidy specifically recites this line to Ezra that I’m just in love with:

Mary Oliver - Quote

rating system 5 out of 5

11 thoughts on “The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider | Review

  1. I'm so glad you loved this! I've been wanting to read it for so long ever since I read a review about it and I honestly can't wait until it's released! Oh and I just love that Mary Oliver quote! It was also mentioned in Golden, which I loved so much. 🙂

    Like

  2. I've seen plenty of 5 star reviews on this one, I'm expecting this one in the mail and I have a feeling I'll kiss the pakage when I see it. I think I'm already in love with Ezra <3

    Awesome review, Jen! <33

    Like

  3. Ahhh you have me totally convinced! This probably would have completely slipped past my attention (as it doesn't immediately sound like my type of book) but I always appreciate good writing and well-developed characters. Fantastic review, Jen. 🙂

    Like

  4. Oooo another wildly positive review for this book Jen! I will be honest and say I cheated and read the end of it first (don't judge me, I can't help it!), and was a touch put off because I'm a die-hard romantic at heart and this has a bit of a bittersweet ending, however beautifully fitting it might be. After reading your review and a couple others' though, I'm thinking I need to just get over myself and read this because it sounds spectacular. So glad you adored it!

    Like

  5. I can't wait to read this book! I've heard so many wonderful things about The Beginning of Everything and I absolutely adore the premise. I think watching Ezra re-invent himself in the wake of his accident will be very satisfying and his relationship with Cassidy sounds fascinating. I'm also intrigued by the fact that it's told from a male point-of-view, which I find is extremely rare in the genre and when executed well can be very effective and interesting to read about!

    Thanks for the wonderful review, Jen 🙂 Now I'm even more excited to read this book!

    Like

  6. First off, I LOVE that line! It's in GOLDEN by Jessi Kirby as well. (I think I spelled her name wrong…) Anyway, I am so thrilled you enjoyed this one! I've been hearing such great things about it, so I'm really excited for its release and definitely can't wait to get my hands on a copy. In particular, I just can't wait to meet the characters!(: Great review, Jen!

    Like

  7. This looks AMAZING Jennnyy! Now I'm so excited to read this book. I hadn't heard of it before, but you totally sold me. And that quote? LOVE LOVE LOVE. *grabby hands for the book*
    -willa (ramblerambleramble)
    #WERK

    Like

  8. I had kind of decided to pass this one up, but your review made me completely reconsider. The fact that you compared the writing style to John Green's makes me figuratively drool, and that quote captures my attention just as much. Golden by Jessi Kirby also centers around that saying, and I related to the whole concept SO MUCH, so the idea of another book based on Oliver's words? I am intrigued. Thanks for your illuminating thoughts!

    Like

  9. Squeeee we both 5 starred this one on the same day. *high five* I totally agree that this one is all about the characters, I miss Ezra so much!

    Like

  10. I love the sound of this one! I truly enjoy creative and fun writing and well-developed characters and this one had both! I really dread reading these types of books because they always make me so emotional, but I just can't resist them. I can't wait to pick this one up and meet Ezra and see how the author concludes things off. I'm glad you enjoyed this, Jen! Fab review! 😀

    ~ Maida
    Literary Love Affair

    Like

Leave a Reply

