My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick | Review

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Publisher: Dial Books for Young Readers

Release Date: June 14, 2012

Pages: 394

Source: Library

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick is everything that I wanted it to be and more. Deliciously sweet, this story had me saying “aww” every couple of pages. With undeniably lovable characters and a great plot, I can’t help but adore this book just as much as everybody else before me.

Without a doubt, My Life Next Door is the perfect summer read. Samantha starts off her summer seemingly like every other to-be senior, except when she finally meets the boy next door, Jase Garrett. But this family isn’t your typical one– it’s a family of eight children. Once she meets Jase, her summer ignites like a bomb and turns into something she does not expect.

I love everything that happened in this story. There’s the obvious romantic tension: Sam and Jase click in the beginning, but it’s not insta-love at all. I found myself cheering on their relationship because they are simply perfect for each other. Their fervent love for one another is clear and obvious, as well as realistic and true. Sam herself is an altruistic character, always going out of her way to help the Garretts, whatever the situation. She proves to be a strong character, and stands up for what she believes in. And Jase, whew, *fans self*, where can I find one?

My favorite aspect of this novel is surely the generously large family, the Garretts. With children ranging from toddlers to teens, they bring about a sense of chaos and, conversely, assuage during the times of stress for adults. I love the family involvement that Fitzpatrick decided to include in this story.

In all honestly, I’m shocked that it took me THIS long to read this beautiful and adorable book. Fans of Anna and the French Kiss or Nantucket Blue will enjoy this one a lot, I think! The romance is sigh-worthy and the laugh-out-loud familial aspects ties in perfectly in this novel. Pick this one up before the summer ends!

rating system 4.5 out of 5

8 thoughts on “My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick | Review

  1. I'm going to hunt down this novel now and I will not rest until I find it! I've had my waiting! TWELVE YEARS IN AZKABAN. Not really… I'm a good wizard, honestly!
    If it's like Anna and the French Kiss then it must be good!

    Like

  2. Yay I'm really happy you enjoyed this one! I agree, the romance is so heart-poundingly brilliant and beautiful. I loved the family dynamic, as well, it was such a clever thing to incorporate! Fantastic review, Jen! <33

    Like

  3. Yay! -does a happy dance- I KNEW you'll love this one Jen! I surprisingly loved this one too. 😀<3
    I love that the romance between Sam and Jase wasn't insta-love. It developed slowly and sweetly and I was definitely cheering for them along the way like you did.
    And if only ebay sells Jases…. I'll even buy him for $1000. 😛
    Awesome review! 😀

    Like

  4. I have heard so many amazing things about this book and its sitting on my shelf just waiting to be devoured! I think I am going to make this my next read. I love the sound of the story, romance and characters, especially Jase! ;p I can't wait to meet the Garretts as well. They sound hilarious and I just love big families! I'm glad you enjoyed this, Jen! Awesome review! 😀

    ~ Maida
    Literary Love Affair

    Like

  5. My favourite thing about the book was definitely the Garretts too. I've never been too keen on large families, but the author absolutely convinced me that I wanted to be a part of one here. And I loved Jase! The romance was super sweet in this book. So glad it worked for you too, Jen! 🙂

    Like

  6. Aww, I get warm fuzzies every time someone mentions how much they liked the Garretts in their review. I know I would love that huge family, as well! Like the Weasleys. And of course, the romance sounds perfect. I'm kind of surprised you hadn't read this one yet, as well, because it definitely seems like your kind of book! And even though it's not strictly my typical kind of read, I think I would love it, too. Fantastic review, Jen!

    Like

Leave a Reply

