Tie a Bow on It: July 2013 Wrap-Up

July 2013 Wrap UpImage from We Heart It

Wow, seriously? July’s already over? Shoot, school’s about to start. Nevertheless, I’m going to try to block that out of my mind, because some awesome things happened in July! If you’re unfamiliar with my wrap-up posts, you can click here to see last months (aka, my first one!)

favorite books this month - banner

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell - PolaroidEleanor & Park - DescriptionWhere the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller - PolaroidWhere the Stars Still Shine - DescriptionThe Fault in Our Stars by John Green - PolaroidThe Fault in Our Stars - Description

Looking For Alaska by John Green - PolaroidLooking for Alaska - Description

three things that happened this month - banner

  • I went to my first ever overnight camp! It was for dance and we stayed three nights at a local college. We got to stay in dorms and everything! It was an amazing experience.
  • SAT prep + classes = ew. I’m entering my junior year, so in October/November I’ll be taking my SATs. GAAAG. It’s so gross. Just.
  • I’m no longer a macaron virgin OR a John Green virgin. The macaron wasn’t THAT great, the shell tasted weird. >.< I had a coffee one, if you're wondering! And as you can tell, my first two JG novels became my favs for the month, and probably for the year (they were much more successful than the macarons…)

music musings - banner

Lucky Strike - BannerTitanium - Banner

three August releases I'm excited about - banner

three excited releases for August - collage

 

  • Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke: I’ve already seen great reviews of this one, and I’ve been craving a Gothic thriller ever since The Madman’s Daughter. This one sounds amazing!
  • Just Like Fate by Cat Patrick and Suzanne Young: I have yet to experience Cat’s writing style, but I recently loved Suzanne Young’s The Program. Plus, who doesn’t love a good contemporary?
  • Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan: twelve year-old genius girl who’s parents die? Sad, but I’ve heard great things about this middle grade!

Wow, I had quite a month! What happened to you guys this month? Read any amazing books? Which books are you excited for in August? Let me know, I hope everyone had a good month!

 

19 thoughts on “Tie a Bow on It: July 2013 Wrap-Up”

  1. Yay for non-John-Green virgins! I'm glad you loved The Fault in Our Stars and Looking for Alaska. Both made me cry!
    Just Like Fate looks so good and I really like Cat Patrick's books. I don't know if it will be released in the UK, but I'm going to have a look now.
    Good luck for August!

    Like

  2. The Fault in Our Stars was definitely and eye opener for me. Not sure if that's a good thing or bad thing! Haha! I'm really looking forward to Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea. Lovey Post, Jen! 🙂

    Like

  3. I really love the idea behind wrap-up posts! They're such a great way to encapsulate what you're accomplished and experienced – I might have to think about starting up my own at the end of August. They're a little like a miniature scrapbook of your time and memories, which I adore 🙂

    I am *so* envious that you had the opportunity to read Trish Doller's Where The Stars Still Shine prior to its release. I'm definitely going to be pre-ordering it as Something Like Normal was easily one of the best and most emotional contemporaries I read last year. I can't wait to read Doller's sophomore novel!

    Like

  4. Gosh I love your little graphics, Jen! Can I just marry them please?! I'm so happy you loved JG so we can now fangirl over him. The next one by him you have to read is PAPER TOWNS – it's freaking hilarious. Love, love, love. Possibly more than TFiOS for me, if I'm being honest. 😀

    love it, jennnyyyy! xx

    Like

  5. I really love TFiOS, Where the Stars Still Shine, and Looking for Alaska myself. I recently picked up a copy of Eleanor and Park, so I can't wait to dive into it, and I'm so curious to check out Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea! Wonderful wrap-up post!(:

    Like

  6. Omg ok I have the most spastic comment ever.

    1. LOOK AT THE CONTEMPORARY yesssss. I'm a JG hipster so I read his books ages ago but LfA is my favorite book! I'm so glad you enjoyed it! And I can't wait to read Where the Stars Still Shine! My egalley expired before I got to read it boooo. But hearing you liked it makes me happy!

    2. MACARONS! I had my first macarons this week too! I thought they were amazing. I don't think I'd ever have a coffee one, though. That doesn't sound that good to me.

    3. I like both of your song choices. I wish I could see the dance that goes along with it! (I'm assuming you're dancing to it from the caption lol).

    4. I love the graphics and formatting so you win!

    Like

  7. I'm staring at all your pretty graphics right now. They must have taken forever to make.

    YAY for John Green! His books are so smart that reviewing them really is impossible. I just finished Where the Stars Still Shine a few minutes ago and loved it, so I'm excited to read your review. 🙂

    I hope you enjoy the August releases you are anticipating! I didn't adore Just Like Fate because I thought it was kind of weak and the two parallel universes did not differ dramatically enough, but it was a still quick, fun read. Have a great August and good luck with reading when school starts. :/

    Like

  8. Gah! I must be the only John Green virgin left now. 😉 I'm really glad you enjoyed his books! It's great that all your favourite titles of the month are standalones. I can't belive it's August already, but I'm really looking forward to the month ending. Then it'll be september and ALL the exciting books are out that month. Can't wait! 🙂

    Like

  9. aaaah I ADORE this post!! It's SOOO PRETTY!! I NEED to read Eleanor & Park!! EVERYONE is obsessing over it! Including my sister lol! Aww good luck on your SAT's!! & I can't wait t read Just Like Fate too!
    – Farah @ MajiBookshelf

    Like

  10. Ahh, your graphic making skills are killing me, Jen. This post looks beautiful! It looks like you really enjoyed JG this month, haha. I've read both TFiOS and E&P, and both were great! I really need to pick up Looking for Alaska soon though, since I've heard such fabulous things. Also, yay for your overnight camp!! I went to one in July as well (at a college too!), and it was like the bestest experience ever. Glad you had fun! <3 Ew for the SATs though, even though I'm sure you will do AWESOME. I have to start studying too... Also, another Boyce Avenue song! You've gotten me addicted to them BAD girl. I am also very excited for Between the Devil and Deep Blue Sea. The cover is gorgeous, and the synopsis sounds equally as great!

    Lovely post, my dear! I really enjoy reading these wrap-ups and may just have to steal the idea. 😉

    (Also, please excuse the spaziness that is this comment, haha)

    Like

  11. LOVE LOVE LOOOOVE YOUR POST!! I cannot wait to read Trish Doller's work and The Fault in Our Stars, even though it is emotional. Plus, I also can't wait to read Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea. It sounds amazing! Good luck with your SATs…my school starting up soon too! *sigh* Why couldn't life be just books, books and chocolate!?? 😀 Love the post, Jen!

    ~ Maida
    Literary Love Affair

    Like

  12. Go Jen for losing your Green-virginity! (I really never thought I would say that, btw.) 😛 I'm a huge fan of Gayle Forman too! She rocks. Eleanor & Park sounds so good, I really need to read it. School's almost here for me, too. D: I wish Summer would just hang on a bit longer. 😉 You're so lucky you had a great experience at an Overnight camp, I've never been to one but I really wanna go and see what it's like. 😀 Lovely post, Jen! ❤

    Like

  13. Wow, love this post, it looks lovely! And John Green books are simply flawless- can't stop thinking about TFiOS. I wasn't a huge fan of Eleanor and Park but it was sweet.

    Thanks for sharing, Jen! <33

    Like

  14. 'm glad that you had such a great reading month Jen, I can't wait to read Where the Stars Still Shine, the reviews have been great so far! I also can't wait to get my hands on Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea, the premise and cover look fantastic! I hope August is a great reading month for you too! 🙂

    Like

  15. Ohhh Jen, I can't get over how freaking PRETTY these wrap-up posts of yours are!! I love the set-up so much. So colourful and clean and did I mention pretty? Jealous. I would love my wrap-up posts to look like this, but ummmm that's never going to happen. Did it take you long to create the graphics for these?

    Eeek, I'm STILL a JG virgin!! I know, I know. It's pretty shameful especially since I've been a fan of the vlogbrothers since almost their inception. But I'm definitely planning on reading at least one (hopefully all 5) by the end of this year. Also, Eleanor and Park!! I need to read that one badly, as well. Aaah, so many great books to read, so little time. I guess there are worse problems in life than that 😀

    Like

  16. Wow, this makes me want to participate in a wrap-up post, too! So freakin' amazing =D

    The Fault in Our Stars is an amazing book! I loved it =D

    I haven't listened to Maroon 5's Lucky Strike but I love their One More Night and Daylight.

    For August, I'm pretty excited for The Infinite Moment of Us and The First Affair.

    Like

Leave a Reply

