Flirting with Maybe by Wendy Higgins | Mini Review

Flirting with Maybe by Wendy HigginsFlirting with Maybe by Wendy Higgins

Harper Teen Impulse

March 5, 2013

Series: standalone

Knowing that Wendy Higgins can write smexy times in YA, I was curious to pick up Flirting with Maybe. Although I wasn’t the biggest fan of Sweet Evil, it’s always intriguing to see an author write in a different genre than what they’re used to writing. Being a novella, Flirting with Maybe was certainly a short, quick and cute read, but nothing more.

Three main points about my opinions with this short story:

  • Time went by way too fast in this book. Just short of 100 pages, this book took place in the span of two years, give or take a few months. Do you know how fast that is? I felt like Higgins was just quickly skimming over everything that happened, and it just irked me a bit. Things could have been more developed!
  • I didn’t understand the romance. Ryan, who’s perspective the story is told in, was kind of.. Obsessed with Brooke, a girl who’s 2 years older than him. I didn’t care about the age difference, but I never understood why he liked/loved her so much. It seemed purely physical to me most of the time…
  • I liked the male POV! I always love when female authors take a stab at writing through the eyes of the opposite gender. I bow down to these authors! Higgins did a solid job, and it’s especially interesting because this was a romance.

In all, Flirting with Maybe was a speedy read that would be great for reading by the pool or at the beach. I didn’t get much out of it, but it was entertaining.

rating system 3 out of 5

11 thoughts on “Flirting with Maybe by Wendy Higgins | Mini Review

  1. Oh no! Just a 3 out of 5? Hmmm well, I think that's my fear with most novellas, to be honest. They're so short that we can't really reconcile with the character quirks – which is sounds like we have in this story. Nevertheless, I love Wendy Higgins, so I'll have to give it a go. Wonderful review, Jen! 🙂

    Like

  2. Awwww I really liked this one Jen, sorry it didn't work as well for you! Though I wanted to throttle Brooke for not seeing how much she was hurting Ryan with her actions. I agree a 2 year timespan in 100 pages is a lot to cover, but for some reason when I know it's a novella I don't worry about things being rushed as much because I just sort of expect it. Not sure if that makes sense:) Hope you pick up something AMAZING next!

    Like

  3. Wow 100 pages to cover two years time? That does seem pretty extreme, too bad this one didn't work better for you. I have seen some really good reviews of it and I do want to read this one but I will definitely be adjusting my expectations.

    Like

  4. This does sound like a cute read Jen, but I can understand how you felt that it went by too quick. A 100 pages is really hard to fit a story into especially one that focuses on a romance, I really like seeing a build up of romance, so I don't know if this would work for me, But thank you for the great review Jen! 🙂

    Like

  5. Geez 2 years in 100 pages! That would make it hard for me to really connect with the story I like to feel the time pass if you know what I mean. Too bad this wasn't better though I know she has a lot of fans with her Sweet Evil series!

    Like

  6. Great mini-review, Jen! I actually just finished Sweet Evil, how uncanny is that?! I'm sorry you didn't like this one that much, though. Wendy DOES write hot romances, but I can understand that you found it physical rather than something more profound. That was kind of the case in Sweet Evil, for me. I couldn't understand why he liked her! Male POVs are so rare and interesting! I think I'll give this a go. Lovely review, Jen! ❤ x

    Like

  7. I've been meaning to read this since forever, and I can't believe I totally forgot about it. I do like the premise for the book, but too bad you couldn't connect with the romance and that it was too quick. 😦 I don't know if I'll pick it or not, but if I do I'm very curious to see how I'd like it! ;p

    Brilliant review! 😀

    *New Follower*

    ~ Maida
    Literary Love Affair

    Like

  8. Wow, I can't believe Higgins was ambitious enough to attempt to cover such a vast span of time given the limitations inherent in a novella. When I do read them (Which is very rarely) I prefer novellas that focus on a much shorter period of time as I find you're able to get a much tighter final product as the author is able to examine everything in greater depth. I'm not surprised Higgins was forced to skim much of the period given that she had only 100 pages or so to accomplish such an impossible feat! On a positive note, I do love reading stories from a male point-of-view. I find they're extremely rare so I try to snap them up when I can 🙂

    Like

  9. Novellas are usually a miss for me and it's for the reason you pointed out – 100 pages is too few for so much story! Two years is a lot to go through in only 100 pages. I always feel like it's not enough and I want the story to be expanded. But I guess that would defeat the purpose of the novella. I guess they're just not my thing – but I can appreciate that this was a fun, fast read, which is really nice sometimes! Nice thoughts, Jen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

