Gated by Amy Christine Parker | Review

Gated by Amy Christine ParkerGated by Amy Christine Parker

Random House Books for Young Readers

August 6, 2013

Series: standalone (for now..)

Gated by Amy Christine Parker is your typical dystopian story with not much different from all of the others. The only difference is the fact that it’s set in our time period–as in the 21st century–which makes it unlike the other dystopian societies out there. But other than that, there’s not much else that’s note-worthy. In fact, it’s quite a prosaic read.

First off, the dystopian world in this novel isn’t really present at all. It isn’t lacking in the world-building specifically (since it is set in present day), but rather that the discrepant aspect that sets it apart from other dystopians is absent. The people in the Community are literally gated in this little town and have Intendeds, people who they are intended to marry (Matched, anyone?), and.. That’s pretty much it. Pretty bland, right?

In addition, the characters didn’t boost my interest in this story either. Lyla, our main protagonist, starts off as a pretty weak character: easily malleable by society. She also did not stand up for herself very often, and was among the weaklings in her friend group. It’s not until the end that she becomes a strong fighter, but I truly feel that her new persona only comes out because of adrenaline. The usual character progression that I love so much is not evident. If anything, her persona jumps from weak to strong.

And can we please discuss the romance? Insta-love and a love triangle. *sigh* Lyla is Intended to be with her childhood best friend, Will, but she meets another boy, Cody, whom she instantly falls in love with (okay, this is actually sounding suspiciously like Matched, creepy!). The insta-love is so clearly present I couldn’t help but groan when I read Lyla’s pleas to see Cody again. The romance is a big no-no for me in Gated.

The redeeming factor for me in this story is the last 20%. It spontaneously becomes a thriller/on-the-run, and it is extremely action-packed. I flew through those last pages and I am quite satisfied with the ending; I like the way everything wraps up. But please, I really hope there isn’t a sequel.

Looking back at all of the points I made in this review, I’ve come to the conclusion that I didn’t really enjoy this book all that much. My status updates on Goodreads were pretty much me complaining how banal this book was. With a forgettable dystopian world, weak characters, a spiteful romance, and only a good ending, Gated is a novel that I wouldn’t particularly recommend. I’d say pick this up if you’re in the mood for a dystopian, but not one that will blow your mind.

rating system 2.5 out of 5Thanks to Netgalley and Random House BFYR for providing me with a copy to review!

9 thoughts on “Gated by Amy Christine Parker | Review”

  1. This seems to be a hit or miss with many. I really enjoyed it but I do understand why it didn't resonate with you as well. I didn't see the romance as a triangle bc she had no romantic interest in Will at all. But I loved the ending it was so intense!

    Like

  2. I was debating this one earlier today, but I think you've made my mind up for me. I really don't want to have to put myself through another love triangle! It's such a shame to hear the main character isn't as well developed as she could be either. Ugh. I'll definitely skip this one now.

    Sorry that it disappointed Jen, but thanks for the helpful review!

    Like

  3. This one does seem very Matched-esque, it seems! A weak main protagonist, love triangle, and insta-love? Check, check check. Eerily similar. I love a good dystopian, but this one really seems bland, just in general. The lack of world-building also seems so disappointing. And gah, love triangles and insta-love are basically two of my biggest bookish pet peeves.

    Thanks for such a lovely and honest review, Jen! It seems like this is one I'll be skipping.

    Like

  4. Sucks that the world building wasn't that great, and the characters didn't interest you either.. and eww for insta-love! I AM NOT A FAN! I'm fine with love triangles, but NOT insta-love… im so over this!! Thanks for your honest review, Jen!
    – Farah @ MajiBookshelf

    Like

  5. Woah, this is a cute blog you have here! Love the look of it 🙂

    As for the book, I have had high hopes- the cover is killer amazing but looks like no one is really enjoying the romance. Ugh.

    Lovely review, hon! <33

    Like

  6. Woah, you have such a pretty blog! Love the look. 😀 The reviews on this one have me convinced that I won't really enjoy it- especially the poor characters and yucky insta love.

    Fantastic review, hon! <33

    Like

  7. Dang, this DOES sound bland! How unfortunate. I am so burnt out on dystopians lately that I really need them to stand out if I am to enjoy them nowadays. And both a love triangle AND insta-love?! UGH. Why?! I wish authors and publishers would get it in their heads that we all dislike those two things. Like, pretty much everyone's TTT posts this week included both of those things on their list. Bleh. But anyways, sorry this one left you disappointed and was far from a good reading experience. Great review though! Hopefully your next read has been much better.

    Like

  8. As much as I like the sound of the premise for this one, I am totally going to skip this. Insta-love, love triangle, non-relatable main character….um…so not something I want to read. I honestly can't connect with the story, if there are too many side problems. Sorry this didn't work out for you, Jen.

    Great honest review! =)

    ~ Maida
    Literary Love Affair

    Like

Leave a Reply

