Waiting on Wednesday (#3)

Waiting on Wednesday - BannerWaiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, in which we spotlight upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Cherry Money Baby by John M. CusickCherry Money Baby by John M. Cusick

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Hollywood glitz collides with workingclass aspirations in this satirical tale of an impulsive starlet and a sharp-witted small-town teen.

Cherry Kerrigan loves her simple life, her family’s tiny trailer, even working at Burrito Barn. Forget college — she’s marrying her sweetheart from next door. But here comes Ardelia Deen, a glamorous starlet who sweeps Cherry into a world of fast cars and penthouse parties. Now Cherry’s small-town life just seems so . . . small. When Ardelia drops a bomb of an offer — one involving a baby — Cherry knows her life will change forever, no matter what she decides. John M. Cusick focuses his signature wit on Hollywood royalty and the wide-eyed dreams of Small Town, U.S.A. in a novel about discovering who you are . . . and changing your mind.

Gaaah this book just sounds so GOOD. A girl who lives in a small town and is then swept into a big town with parties and rich cars? This book just screams ME. I want. So. Badly. I was already denied on Netgalley for this book, so I’ll actually have to wait until September 10, 2013 by Candlewick Press for this one. Sigh.

What are you waiting on this week?

10 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday (#3)

  1. I picked Cherry Money Baby for Lit Up Review's Waiting on Wednesday this week! It sounds brilliant-I'm pretty much guaranteed to read a book that is described as satirical, and this one promises to be hilarious. That's too bad that you were denied on Netgalley, but I hope you love it anyway. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hey, you've found one that I've never heard of! Adding to my tbr now. This type of book would normally not appeal to me, but I've actually always been curious about Hollywood high life. Sorry to hear you were declined a book that was basically meant for you! Aww, I hate when that happens.

    Like

  3. I haven't heard of this before, but Candlewick usually have some great books, so I'll definitely be adding this to the list now. I like the sound of this sharp-witted teen. The cover is brilliant, too! Great pick, Jen. 🙂

    Like

  4. I hate when you have your heart set on a book, it comes on NetGalley and you get denied. Its horrible feeling, I've been there. But this sounds right up my street as well. Great Pick, Jen!

    P.S I'm so in love with your design since I've been in to your blog that I have only just noticed! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

