The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay | Review

The Sea of Tranquility by Katja MillayThe Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay

Atria Books

June 4, 2013

Series: standalone

It’s always hard to read a book after so much hype has been surrounding it for months. For me, getting into the The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay proved to be an extremely difficult task. The story as a whole is quite problematic, and it isn’t until the ending (perhaps the last 10%) that really redeems itself.

Firstly, my main issue with this book was the pacing and the plot. The details of Nastya and Josh’s everyday life is verbose and not much actually happens. Sure, the reader gets to know each character oh-so-agonizingly slow, but I have to admit that I was bored to death for the majority of the novel. I considered DNF-ing this book because of the pacing (the reason why I didn’t was because of some very persuasive Twitter friends). If it weren’t for the climatic ending that I was looking forward to, I would have easily put this book down simply because it didn’t hold my interest.

One of the main points in this story is that Nastya’s “dark history” isn’t revealed until very late in the story, and the reader has to take the little hints dropped here and there and slowly piece it together. Nastya is a very broken character from this dark past in the beginning. However, I felt that her ominous past was a bit… over-exaggerated once it was revealed. Personally, it seemed like Nastya overreacted, and her whole silence/not speaking thing caused a some eye-rolling. Perhaps it’s because the situation isn’t described in detail enough, but I just couldn’t relate to her reasoning why she was so deeply wounded. This brought about my lack of connection with Nastya herself. Josh, the other POV we get in this story, wasn’t particular special (or swoon-worthy, for that matter), either. Although, I did feel like his background was more evocative than Nastya’s. Josh proves to be a sweet love interest, but nothing more.

As previously mentioned, it wasn’t until the last 10% that this book really clicked for me. Millay’s writing explodes with color and my eyes really opened. I was able to fully appreciate the ending and it definitely bumped it up half a star. I have to mention how fascinating it all was, how everything comes together, especially the little things. The last couple of sentences of this story wrapped up Nastya and Josh’s story perfectly.

For my final opinion for this book, I’d say read this book with caution because it failed to live up to my expectations. It’s an extremely detailed and slow-paced story, and it’s definitely for patient readers. The romance is a gorgeous one though, and I’d say it’s worth reading about if you love satisfying endings!

rating system 3.5 out 5Thanks to Atria Books and Netgalley for providing me with a review copy!

4 thoughts on “The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay | Review”

  1. Ooh, I love the cover of this one! 🙂 I haven't heard of this one before so I guess I'll add it my never-ending wishlist. It sounds annoying that it only picked up in the last 10%, and I don't enjoy slow-paced books, but the romance sounds gorgeous. Thanks for the great review, Jen! ❤

    Like

  2. After watching you struggle to really make a connection with this book for what seemed like weeks on end on Twitter, I think I'm going to hold off on reading this novel for now. I was never certain it sounded like the sort of story I would enjoy, and many other people have voiced similar complaints in regards to the glacial pacing and rather dull story. Life is too short to slog through a book I'm uninterested in simply because it holds the potential of an innovative ending 😉 Lots of books have those, and I think enjoying the journey is just as important as appreciating the destination!

    This was a very insightful review and a pleasure to read, Jen 😀

    Like

  3. I gave this the same rating as you, though I think I enjoyed it a little more than you did. In retrospect, I do agree about Nastya's reaction to what happened to her. The silence did feel a bit theatrical at times, and definitely added to the angst for me, but I was happy with the story overall. I'm glad you were satisfied with the ending though. Lovely review, Jen!

    I love your new header, by the way. So pretty and so you! 🙂

    Like

  4. I've seen this book so much around but I've never been interested enough to pick it up somehow. I struggle with slow-paced books as well so I can kind of feel what you went through. But I've this OCD-ish problem where I just have to finish as certain book. However, I'm glad that the romance is gorgeous that might make me pick up the book.

    Great review, Jen!

    Like

Leave a Reply

