Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell | Review

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow RowellEleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

St. Martin’s Press

February 26, 2013

Series: standalone

Now. I’m sure I’m probably the last person on earth who hasn’t read this book, but just in case you haven’t, you really, really, need to. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell has legitimately been raved about for the longest time, and I can happily say that I fell in love with this story like most others. This particular story about first love is so incredibly innocent, different, and tender. Oh, so, tender.

To be honest, I can’t find anything wrong with this book. I love everything about it: from the eloquent writing style, to the incredibly endearing characters, this story felt perfect and I wanted more after I flipped the last page. But let’s go into more detail, shall we?

First, Rowell’s writing style. It’s extremely simple, but very artful in the way that it’s not overly voluble, either. It fit like a glove for me, and I was extremely comfortable the entire time. (There’s a lot of parentheses like this, but that just made me love it even more.) It’s different and lovable at the same time. I’m officially a fan of Rowell’s writing!

Here comes the hard part: Eleanor and Park. Now, this is not a spoiler because obviously, E&P fall in love. But before hand, I just want to discuss E&P as separate characters. Eleanor definitely starts off as this very quirky girl who nobody likes. I wasn’t too sure of her myself, but as the story continued, the reader learns more about her family and her history and there’s just this connection that is made. This growing understanding of Eleanor made me more empathetic and I grew to love her. As for Park, I instantly loved the kid. Half-Asian boy? CHECK. Just kidding, but on a more serious note, Park shows the most character progression in the story. His thoughts on Eleanor in the beginning are so drastically different from the end that it’s really just touching. There’s no other way to describe it. The romance itself… I can’t even. It’s one of the most innocent but true romances you will ever read. Folks, this is how a romance should be written.

So as you can tell, I highly enjoyed this book. Starting Eleanor & Park was extremely nerve-wracking for me because what if it didn’t live up? But silly me, because 10% in and I knew this book was made for me. With a beautiful writing style and delicate and amiable characters, this contemporary romance is one that is way up there in my favorites pile for sure. Pick this one up if you haven’t already!

rating system 5 out of 5Thanks to Netgalley and St. Martin’s Press for providing me with a review copy!

7 thoughts on “Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell | Review

  1. I was late on the bandwagon for this one as well, yet I'm still glad I enjoyed it, although I didn't think it was perfect. Rowell's writing style truly is something else, and it fit the story so well. And I LOVED Park so hard. He definitely grows the most, and it was great seeing the progression of his thoughts on everything, really. My one small issue with this book was Eleanor, though. I had a few issues with her, and felt that she was the one keeping the romance so back and forth. Nonetheless, this really was a great story, and I'm excited to see what this author has in store for us next!

    Gorgeous review, Jen! ❤

    Like

  2. Take comfort in the fact that you're not the last person to read this novel, as apparently I'm now the lone standout 😉

    I've put off reading Eleanor & Park thus far to make the wait until Rowell's Fangirl seem less interminable, but I don't know how much longer I can hold out after reading glowing reviews like yours! I have absolutely no doubt that I'll love it as much as everyone else seems to, particularly after the wonderful experience I had with Rowell's Attachments 😀 Absolutely wonderful review, Jen, as always.

    Like

  3. Hi Jen,
    Lovely Review! This one certainly didn't let me down and it's a favourite of mine. I only read it last week as part of a buddy read with Ruby (Feed Me Books Now) and we both loved it. I think the romance between Eleanor and Park is so pure and beautiful that it's indescribable. Therefor everyone must read it! Glad you enjoyed it as much as I did 🙂

    Like

  4. Now I'm the last person to have read it! And Eeeee does it ever sound perfect! So perfect that I am a bit anxious that it can live up to its hype, as well, but if you say it does, then I have a good feeling that it will for me too. The writing sounds lovely (and I love parentheses!). And Eleanor and Park… GAH, just too good. I hope I will be able to read this one soon. Maybe I'll save it for when I need a really special book to read. Wonderful review for a wonderful book, Jen!

    Like

  5. Ohmygosh! I've read so many gushing reviews about Eleanor & Park, but I still haven't picked it up yet. I really need to get on that! I want to read about these characters and how they fall in love! Awesome review Jen!

    Like

Leave a Reply

