Waiting on Wednesday (#1)

Waiting on Wednesday - BannerWaiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, in which we spotlight upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Untitled-1

Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren Morrill

Synopsis from Goodreads

Meet Sloane Emily Jacobs: a seriously stressed-out figure-skater from Washington, D.C., who choked during junior nationals and isn’t sure she’s ready for a comeback. What she does know is that she’d give anything to escape the mass of misery that is her life.

Now meet Sloane Devon Jacobs, a spunky ice hockey player from Philly who’s been suspended from her team for too many aggressive hip checks. Her punishment? Hockey camp, now, when she’s playing the worst she’s ever played. If she messes up? Her life will be over.

When the two Sloanes meet by chance in Montreal and decide to trade places for the summer, each girl thinks she’s the lucky one: no strangers to judge or laugh at Sloane Emily, no scouts expecting Sloane Devon to be a hero. But it didn’t occur to Sloane E. that while avoiding sequins and axels she might meet a hockey hottie—and Sloane D. never expected to run into a familiar (and very good-looking) face from home. It’s not long before the Sloanes discover that convincing people you’re someone else might be more difficult than being yourself.

I read Meant to Be, Lauren’s debut novel last year and I loved it so much! It was adorable, so it only makes sense that I’m excited for her second novel, which is also a contemporary. Will Grayson, Will Grayson is the only other book that I’ve heard of that has two main characters who meet and have the same name. I love that concept, and I hope Lauren does it well! Being Sloane Jacobs comes out on January 7, 2014 by Delacorte.

What are you waiting for on this lovey Wednesday?

10 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday (#1)”

  1. YES JEN! I can't wait for this book either! I fell madly in love with Meant to Be, so I will definitely be picking up anything and everything Lauren writes:) Plus the cover is adorable and the blurb sounds amazing and I basically just need this book in my hands as soon as possible!

    Like

  2. I haven't read Meant to Be yet, though it's on my TBR. I'm really curious to see how the author is going to pull off having two characters with the same name. I can't believe it's out next year! Oh well, we have less than half the year to go. 😉 Fab pick, Jen!

    Like

  3. I love the summary of this one, but I also loved the summary of Meant to Be too, and wasn't impressed with it. I'll give Lauren Morrill's books a second chance though. Hopefully I'll like this one a lot better than I did like Meant to Be! 😀
    Great pick either way. ;D

    Like

  4. This is a great pick Jen, whilst I didn't enjoy Meant to Be as much as I'd hoped, Being Sloane Jacobs sounds wonderful! It reminds me a bit of the the movie Parent Trap, which I loved! I need a copy of this asap too, January needs to hurry up already!

    Like

Leave a Reply

