Top Ten Tuesday: Most Intimidating Books

Top 10 Tuesday - BannerTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by the ladies over at Broke and Bookish, where there is a new topic every week and we make lists out of them! This week’s topic is most intmidating reads– whether it be hype, thickness, or content matter. In no particular order..

TTT Most Intimidating - 1

  1. Looking For Alaska by John Green (or any John Green book, really) – HYPE. I haven’t read a JG book yet, and I’m honestly so scared because what if I’m disappointed?
  2. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare – Hype, and thickness. There’s a freaking movie coming out, so it better be good. And this series? How many books are there..? EDIT: I read it. LOL it’s awesome.
  3. The Diviners by Libba Bray – JUST LOOK AT HOW FAT IT IS. Just look.
  4. Crank by Ellen Hopkins – This book deals with some pretty insane stuff, I’ve heard. Like drugs, blegh.
  5. Blood Red Road by Moira Young – The format for this book is just different and I’ve heard the writing style is unique. Some people hate it..

TTT Most Intimidating - 2

6. Wild Awake by Hilary T. Smith – This one also has like everything off of the issue list, pretty much. It’s a you-love-it, or you-hate-it type of read, I think.

7. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey – The freaking HYPE for this one! If this one doesn’t live up to it’s expectations, I swear.. plus, it’s a fat one, too.

8. Teeth by Hannah Moskowitz – I hear that Hannah comes up with some crazy topics. Not sure whether I’ll like them or not!

9. Stolen by Lucy Christopher – This one’s about an abduction. *shudders* Those are scary!

10. Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff – The writing in this one sounds intimidatingly beautiful and descriptive. And perhaps slow? I want to read this one but..

SO TELL ME. Which ones of these have you read that I HAVE TO READ NOW? Are you intimidated as well? By which ones? 

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most Intimidating Books”

  1. The Diviners is a very intimidating book! I bought it months ago and it sounds so good (I love books set in the 20's and involving the occult) but every time I think about picking it up, I'm like “….but it's SO big!”

    Like

  2. Ellen Hopkins intimidates me too! Her books are supposed to be so good, but they seem so gritty and intense and as much as I want to join her legion of fans, I have to gear myself up for one of her stories.

    I found John Green's books to be just as brilliant as the hype says, and I hope you end up agreeing. I haven't read Paper Towns or An Abundance of Katherines, though, and I am worried those won't be as good as the ones I have read. :/

    Like

  3. Ha! I DNFed Stormdancer. Hope you have google with you if/when you decide to read it. Teeth was sooo different I can see people either love or hate that one easily. i really enjoyed it, though. And The 5th Wave, Blood Red Road, The Diviners = all awesome! Missing our on all the awesome!! 😉

    Like

  4. I don't like overly descriptive books so Stormdancer is not a book I want to pick up. I read The Diviners and it was long but it was really good. It didn't seem that long when I was reading it. The 5th Wave was amazing but I don't want to add to the hype that's scaring you off, lol! Great picks, Jen. 🙂

    Like

  5. GURL you better read the ENTIRE Mortal Instrument series as well as the Infernal Devices. And definitely YES on Blood Red Road. I absolutely LOVED Stormdancer! And lucky for me I wasn't part of the blog community before I read John Green so thank goodness I wasn't exposed to the hype, but READ IT. DO IT. Even if you end up not liking it, but I recommend The Fault in Our Stars.

    Like

  6. Eeeee, I'm right there with you on books by John Green. I've been a fan of his as a person for years, but am so nervous about approaching his books for some reason! But everyone loves them. Thickness and hype are probably the biggest factors that intimidate, but I know in the case of The 5th Wave at least, I felt it met the hype AND was a book I sped through quite quickly. And YES YES please read Blood Red Road!! Okay, there's a chance you might not like the writing style. Even I found it hard to get into at first… but you do get really into it after a little bit and then it just flows and is so beautiful. LOVE IT.

    Like

Leave a Reply

