Rush by Eve Silver | Review

13571953

Rush by Eve Silver

Published by Katherine Tegen Books

June 11, 2013

Series: Book one in The Game series

I’ll admit it; I hardly ever read science fiction, let alone books about aliens. There’s something about the science aspect that usually bores me to no end.  I had my expectations lowered going into Rush by Eve Silver. Now I’m not sure if it’s because I did lower them that I ended up enjoying this novel so much, but Rush turned out to be a surprisingly exhilarating read with tons of non-stop action. I couldn’t seem to turn the pages fast enough. Rush was a thrilling sci-fi that I fell in love with, but not with a few problems in the start.

This action-packed novel certainly did have its flaws, some here and there that nagged me a bit. To be honest, my main issue was actually the love interest in the story. Jackson, a cocky, too-good-for-anyone of a guy acted as a bit of a mentor for Miki, the main character. As a mentor, you’d expect him to helpfully answer any questions Miki had, but he was very closed off. His answers to her were frequently brisk and, in my opinion, rude. However, as the story progressed, his character was more thoroughly explained and I slowly grew to like him more. By the end, I didn’t have much of a problem. In fact, I became really attached to Jackson! The initial dislike for him in the beginning was a drawback though.

The rest of the story was truly exciting. You have the concept of the story: humans being pulled into The Game to fight off Drau, aliens that are planning on destroying all of mankind on Earth. I think that Eve Silver did a fantastic job with world-building, although the way the information was executed was a bit off– there was indeed a bit of info-dumping, but in disguise. I didn’t mind that too much, because the plot certainly made up for it. I loved the balance of sci-fi in The Game and then the contemporary drama in Miki’s real life. The fight scenes in The Game were totally one of those sitting-on-the-edge-of-your-seat kind of feelings and I LOVED THE THRILL. Seriously awesome. As for the romance, I thought there was going to be a love triangle at first, but its quite clear that there isn’t by the end of the story. Who knows, maybe it will develop in book two? Anyway, I was bothered by the romance in the beginning a bit too because of Jackson, but my liking for his character grew with the romance.

To sum up, Rush proved to me that I can enjoy sci-fi (and not only that, but Eve Silver can write mean cliffhangers)! While this story had a pretty heavy weight in romance, I was able to thoroughly enjoy it, since I am a romance junkie. Even if you aren’t a fan of romance in your sci-fis, I’d still give this a try, because this idea in itself is one you won’t want to skip.

RATING: 4 / 5

Thanks to Edelweiss and HarperCollins for providing me with a review copy!

13 thoughts on “Rush by Eve Silver | Review”

  1. I'm actually reeeeally glad to see a mostly positive review for this book! I was really looking forward to it, but then I saw so many negative reviews… I think you've convinced me to give this one a try. 🙂 Thanks Jen!

    Like

  2. I'm so glad that you enjoyed Rush Jen, I started it a few weeks ago and really found it difficult to get into, so I'm glad to know that it gets better the further your progress with the book. I also really like my books that are action packed so now I know I will have to give it another try! Lovely review Jen!

    Like

  3. JENNNNNNNNNNN!!!! HAIIIIIIIII! OMGGG I can't believe I only just found about about your new blog!!!<3 IT'S GORGEOUZ BTW<3
    I haven't read sci-fi in a looooooonnng time but I'm definitely hoping to read one soon 🙂 Hahahaaa I'm a romance junkie too! Except I'm REALLY picky with the amount of romance present in every book..I'd probably want less in a sic-fi book? But I'll definitely give this a try if I ever get my hands on a copy :))

    Like

  4. JEN!!! WELCOME TO WORDPRESS!! THE NEW BLOG IS SO SASSY 😀

    You, my friend, are awesome and I'm now going to follow you!! Haha I haven't read Rush but there's been AH-MAZING reviews so I know I can't miss out on that action, thrill and science fictionn! Though Jackson sounds like those male characters whom I'll give a good kick… Hope he won't annoy me too much 😛

    Like

  5. I've been on the fence about this one, but now I'm totally going to have to pick it up! I love a good sci-fi, although I'm not the biggest romance fan out there. I'm glad that it, along with Jackson, ended up growing on you. Jackson does seem standoffish, but it's great that you ended up really liking him! The plot sounds utterly fantastic, honestly. I love the thrill of some good action! Although, I really dislike info-dumps, even if they're in disguise. 😉

    Great review, Jen! i'm definitely going to be adding this one to the TBR. ❤

    Like

  6. OOH GODS Jackson!!!! *stabs Jackson with fork* I hated him and his non-answers! I didn't like anything else in this book very much though so I'm glad you found more to your liking. It does have an awesome premise and some pretty good action scenes.

    Like

  7. I've been seeing this one everywhere! I've read quite a lot of mixed reviews, so I'm not sure how I'll like it. Unlike you, I love science fiction and read it quite often, so my expectations are pretty high! (that makes me nervous, haha.) I'm a bit turned off by the fact that Jackson is super cocky and rude, but… who knows? Maybe I'll grow to like him like you did!

    Lovely review, Jen! Glad this one was surprisingly good! 🙂

    Like

  8. I've been seeing this one around a lot, too! But for good reason, it appears. Everyone seems to be loving it! Ugh, Jackson seems too cocky for his own good. The right amount of confidence in a guy is charming, but too much just ruins it. :/ Wow the concept is so intriguing, and aaah I've been missing action-packed, thrilling books! I can't remember the last time I read one like that. YAY Aliens. ❤ Fabulous review, Jen! I'm definitely going to pick this one up. 😀

    Like

  9. Fabulous review, Jen! I've seen this on the blogosphere a lot but haven't really learnt what it's about. After reading The 5th Wave, I am so excited about science fiction! ALIENS 😀 I'm glad you enjoyed this. It sounds like a great, action-packed read. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  10. My feelings for Jackson changed a lot as the story progressed too. I disliked him at the beginning, but I was totally Team Jackson later on. Not that there were actual teams to speak of. And I think you're right about the infodumps, but overall, I had a lot of fun reading this.
    The cliffhanger was a bit cruel, but I have my theory about it and I so hope I'm right. 🙂
    Lovely review!

    Like

  11. I'm so happy that you like Rush! I've been pinning for this book for awhile.
    And aww, sucks to hear that Jackson was so annoying at first. Hopefully I'll grow to like him too.
    Awesome review Jen! (:

    Like

  12. I was really drawn in by the synopsis and I'm so glad you enjoyed it! The concept of the story & plot sound super exhilarating. By the description, I'll probably have a problem with Jackson, but hopefully he'll grow on me. Great review Jen!

    Like

Leave a Reply

